We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neide's is excellent Brazilian / South American cuisine with a beautiful view”
Review of Neide's Salsa and Samba - CLOSED

Neide's Salsa and Samba
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Neide's is owned be a native of Rio de Janeiro and this restaurant is along standing favorite of ours that does not disappoint. The menu features burritos, panquecas, fajitas, fish tacos, and similar and has excellent quality and has a full bar. Located in the heart of Hanalei overlooking the center island mountains it's a beautiful location.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Brenda-blmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015

The view is one of the most beautiful in Kauai. We were relaxing at an outside table and the most beautiful rainbow appeared above the vast mountain range towering over the magical green meadow. The rainbow graced the sky for several minutes. We also enjoyed the variety of birds and domestic animals roaming the meadows. The black and white cat who lives there was delightful to feed, pet and watch. The food was expensive and the quality was hit and miss. There where four people in our party two of us loved the food and the other two felt the food too expensive and the quality was average. The nachos were prepared in such a way that most of the chips were soggy and the fish tacos were ok but both of the individuals who ate the tacos felt very sick later that night. The tacos were priced on the menu as market value. We made the mistake of not confirming the price and were shocked when charged $20 for two tacos. Two of us ordered the fish with coconut tomato sauce and loved the complex balanced flavors. The fish was well prepared and a large portion priced at $28. If you choose to eat at this restaurant, be prepared for the high price mixed quality of meals and an amazing view.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank luckytamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I am a frequent visitor to Kauai and used to enjoy eating at Neide's. A couple of years ago i discovered i had a gluten allergy. 3 times in the past 2 1/2 years I have tried to eat there and each time they refused to accommodate me. I tried ordering the crepe (just put the contents in a bowl and leave off the crepe) and a burrito (please don't roll it in a flour tortilla) and the answer was NO! There is not another place that i have eaten, whether is was a fancy restaurant or the barbeque chicken place across the street from them, that has not willingly and graciously accommodated me. It was not as if i asked them to cook something special. The owner appears to be in business to serve her ego and not the public. I find it truly offensive and arrogant to hold that kind of position and blow off a paying and willing customer. SHAME ON YOU!!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

DO NOT GO HERE unless you like being frustrated. This was our second visit to this restaurant. Last year was not nearly as bad, but this time was pretty much unbearable. The. Slowest. Service. Ever. Also unfriendly. Like we were bothering her and all the other guests. Food was not great either. We were not in a hurry by any means, but 90+minutes is a long time to be at dinner with two little kids, especially when you are not ordering anything special. And when you have TONS of food left over, and your kids are fading, and you've been there for an eternity, being asked if you want dessert confirms that the service just plain sucks. And the food is nothing great. Don't get sucked in by the nice view, because that's the only good thing about this place.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I have lived on Kauai for 4 years and eaten at Neide's 3 times - each time hoping it would be better than the last mainly because of the wonderful view. I then left to live in Europe for 3 years and just came back for a few months. I went back to Neide's hoping the chef would have either changed or the food improved. It was worse than ever! The deep fried chicken burrito was inedible, the refrigerated red wine tasted like sherry, and all 3 of us left most of our food as couldn't stomach anymore. I don't know how this restaurant is still open. Anyone who knows what good food is will be very disappointed. The waiter was nice and friendly. Good luck!

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SelinaHAnahola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neide's Salsa and Samba also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing