We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst bed I've ever slept on!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Inn
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst bed I've ever slept on!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is what you get for leaving your accommodations to the last minute! There doesn't appear to be a lot of reasonably priced places (under $300/night) on the North Shore of Kauai, so we ended up here. Sooooo disappointing! The bed was the worst I've ever slept in, the softest foam imaginable, a foam roll on the floor would have been preferable. Everything seemed damp, and verging on dirty. I'm not a snob, but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone! The location is very good, and the price not bad, which is the only reason I can imagine people staying here. But if you have any other options, which are even remotely comparable price-wise, I would recommend taking it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in the deceivingly named "beach house" (unit 8) for around $159 a night. From what we could tell the house was portioned up into no less than 4 units. Ours shared a lanai which was nice and you could see a sliver of the ocean. The room itself was very small and uncomfortable especially for the price (we live on island so have much experience on pricing around). The main complaint is with the very uncomfortable bed that sags greatly in the middle and feels like sleeping in a hammock- we woke up very few minutes with back pain or numb arms/legs. Again, for the price it is a good location but below average rooms and very below avg bed that made for bad sleep :-(.
We have stayed at the other units (cottages w/kitchenette) on the hwy which are cheaper and they are worth it but steer clear of unit 5 in the "beach house".

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We got here yesterday and I was apprehensive because of bad reviews on this site and thanks to the fact it was the only place in town still with vacancy.

We came to the conclusion that the people complaining either stayed in unit 5 or would have been better suited to a resort hotel where they could sit in air conditioning all day.

First of all we are 1 block from "Pinetrees" which is the best Intermediate/beginner surf break in Hanalei. The unit is clean, cute, comfortable and so is the bathroom and kitchen. The appliances are not brand new but on what reality do you pay $150 a night in Hanalei for a block from the beach & get state of the art appliances. Unrealistic expectations much?

Highlights include a flat screen with HBO, wireless internet, personal front porch & well maintained yard. We like the room & it is quiet. Previously I have stayed at the Hanalei Vacation House which backs on to noisy Tahiti Nui,

The people complaining about screens and air conditioning should remember that most people who live on the island don't use them... they open windows at night to get a cool ocean breeze. This place is good for active people I guess - who go out and go things all day and then come back to crash and watch TV at night. 5-10 minute walk to Hanalei town.

Room Tip: Ask for not #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieisveryclever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Wow for staying at an amazing location. THIS PLACE WAS DISGUSTING! don't' stay here, we asked for a refund they said no. no how water! SOOOOOO GROSS!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I agree with bigbrian that the room in the back (#5) was not worth the money ($125 as I recall.) It is very cramped with a somewhat worthless fan. The mop and bucket are stored right in the bedroom in view of the bed. A screen on the door would have been very helpful. The bathroom was adequate although the door hit the toilet when opened. The other rooms appeared to be better furnished, larger and may be better value. We were only there one night and fortunately did not experience any urine smells. It was quiet enough although I wonder about the room closest to the road. I have stayed in posh B+Bs in major metro areas for the same price with full-on breakfasts. I'd rate this place with 2.5 stars if I could.

Room Tip: avoid #5 in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daverave532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
4.5 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
2.4 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
4.8 km away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
2.7 km away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.8 km away
Cliffs at Princeville
Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Inn

Property: Hanalei Inn
Address: 5-5468 Kuhio Hwy, Hanalei Bay, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Hanalei
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,326 - ₹ 9,997
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanalei Inn is located on the North Shore of Kauai, Hawaii, in the town of Hanalei. Offering studio accommodations, rooms have a full kitchen, queen bed, air conditioning, free wireless, HBO™ and other move channels, coffee, free parking and more. Nestled in a quiet Hawaiian tropical country setting, the inn is just one block from Hanalei Bay. With breathtaking mountain views and waterfalls, it is the perfect place for relaxing. Including an outdoor covered lanai, there is a barbecue, picnic benches, hammocks, and even a pay phone. There is no better place to start the day. You can enjoy a cup of Kauai coffee surrounded with beautiful Hawaiian tropical gardens and fruit trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Inn Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing