We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$620
View deal
Hotels.com$637
Expedia.com$637
Travelocity$637
Agoda.com$637
Trip.com$637
Hilton$690
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,628)
Filter reviews
10,628 results
Traveller rating
4,063
3,307
1,721
913
624
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,063
3,307
1,721
913
624
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean tower dolphin quest hilton waikoloa lagoon grill the big island kona pool chinese restaurant kamuela provision company fish boat ride dolphin pool buddha point huge resort water slides kpc restaurant dolphin encounter self parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 10,628 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

Positives here are the days spent swimming at the lagoon, dolphin watching in their enclosure, sea turtles, lots of pools and hot tubs, boat rides and a tram. Beautiful sunsets. There’s lots of great walking paths etc.. It’s a good place. A few of the drawbacks are $39 a day to park, and in the day non resort people descend on the pools for a day fee so you are fighting for parking. I didn’t like the turtles being messed with by all the tourists though. I counted 17 turtles in the lagoon and people were water biking over them, paddle boarding on them, petting them in the water and I even saw a guy bit by a turtle. Maybe the resort has a special agreement but all the state beaches have signs to stay 20 feet away from turtles, so I was confused. The food was expensive too. We went into Kona most nights or to the shopping center 5 minutes away. I’d go back to this resort as it was nice. Very clean and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DavidC20957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Aloha David,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're thrilled to know that you had an enjoyable time with our plentiful amenities, stunning sunset views, friendly team, excellent value, and dedication to cleanliness. Your concerns about the turtles are understandable, and we'll be sure to pass them along to our team for further review. It was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Simon, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

How a great vacation. Hotel was clean, transportation was easy to get around. They had a shuttle to take you shopping. The entire staff was friendly and professional. Would recommend to family and friends.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank mrayhons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Aloha,
Thank you for the kind review and recommendation! We're glad our clean, welcoming accommodations and local shuttle impressed you. If your adventures bring you back to town, we invite you to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Simon, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022

This is our second time staying at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. The hotel is huge with lots to do all at a prices $$$$$. With that said our party of 6 (two rooms) enjoyed our trip. My only compliant is they say you have full use of all the hotel amenities on your last day but do not offer a hospitality room to clean up so you can enjoy your last day when you have a evening flight to the mainland. Also even when you are willing to pay an extra $150 for a late check out there is no availability in this huge resort. We were even planning on gettin a cabana or two and having lunch at the pool, so they would have made more money off us.

Also the hotel charges a $45 per night resort fee and $39 per night self parking fees, still don’t see why a separate parking fee is charged along with the res port fee, but all resorts pretty much do it to make money off the customers.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marydL331GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Aloha Mary,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Waikoloa Village! Your loyalty as a returning guest is greatly valued, and we regret that some aspects of your visit could have been better. Your comments will aid us as we work to improve the value we offer our guests. However, it's wonderful that the variety of amenities and activities we offer made your stay enjoyable. We appreciate your positive rating and look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Simon, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022

We just stayed 3 nights in the Makai tower. Our stay started off a bit rocky. We checked in at 4 which was a mistake. Cars were lined up outside with no clear direction on where to drop off or unload bags. Once inside, we waited in line for 35 minutes to check in at the designated Makai tower registration. There was only two parties in front of us the entire time. It was hot and muggy…there was no reason it should’ve taken that long. There were 2 staff checking in guests. One was occupied with a single irate guest the entire time. We later found out the hotel had lost her reservation. She was extremely vocal and upset. She had been there for 2 hours trying to sort it out! Instead of bringing a manager over to help her, and move other guests along, we were left to wait in the heat for the one person left to help check everyone in. Once it was our turn, there was no apology for the wait. nothing. My recommendation to other guests would be to use the general line, it moved much faster and had more attendants. We thought we had to stay in the Makai line. My other recommendation is check in before or after 5.

The room itself was lovely. Ocean view which also included view of the dolphin habitat. So fun to watch the dolphins swim and play throughout the day. We had 2 queen beds which were very comfortable. Pillows were nice as well. No room service or housekeeping unless you request 24 hours in advance.

The coffee shop near the Makai elevators was literally out of the entire right side of the menu. They were also out of milk and cream. Tough when you want some coffee.

We rented a cabana one day by the lagoon. They do offer half day rentals now from 1-5 if you don’t want the full day. We ordered lunch from the lagoon grill. Burgers were expensive but very tasty!

The boat is fun to take around the property at night. They turn off the lights and it’s very peaceful.

All in all the grounds are stunning. Rooms are nice but we won’t be coming back again. We stayed the next 3 nights at the Fairmont Orchid on the Gold Floor. I’ll post a separate review for that. It’s exceptional.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreapO1770NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Aloha Andrea,
Thank you for choosing our premium accommodations in MAKAI. We're glad the beautiful views and comfortable beds added to your experience. It's also great to know that you enjoyed exploring the grounds. However, we apologize for any issues with the service during check-in, and we appreciate your patience. If your adventures bring you back to the area, we hope you'll consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Simon, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

Our ocean front room was directly in front of the dolphin enclosure. Had we known this was a feature at this Hilton I would never have stayed here. Exploiting dolphins for human pleasure and profit is unacceptable - this is not some ignorant third world country set up. Hilton figure out another way to make money than your “Dol-fun” add on- leave these majestic creatures in the open ocean where they belong. Go somewhere else where they don’t exploit dolphins and keep them miserable.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Deeperfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2022

Aloha,
We appreciate your concern for the dolphins, but please know that the dolphins are loved and well-cared for, with regular opportunities to swim in the 4-acre lagoon, which is open to the ocean. We encourage guests to speak with the team at Dolphin Quest to learn more about the excellent care they receive. It is our hope you were able to enjoy your time with us.

Kind regards,
Simon, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews