We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accommodations we've stayed in. DON'T RENT THROUGH CASTLE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Checked in today, checking out already. We planned a great 7 day vacation to celebrate my birthday. Living on Kauai, we take many inter island vacations every year. We have stayed in hotels, condos, private homes and timeshares. In all honesty, this was the worst experience we had. Ive wrotten a few other reviews of Hawaii properties, all glowing. This has never happened to us before. We had read the reviews on TripAdvisor, but what we didn't realize was that Castles inventory was so sub par. We checked in: no BBQ grill as promised on the phone. The answer from Elena at the front desk was "broken, sorry". We get to our condo: huge dead roach right at our doorstep (we have lived in Hawaii for over 20 years and we know there are lots of bugs here, but when checking into a vacation condo, you shouldn't be greeted by one on your entryway). Next, filthy carpets, the entire shower door was covered in soap scum, and the condo smelled like strong mold. We looked in the cabinets, pans should have been thrown away a year ago. Cheap aluminum, all the non-stick coating peeling off, and burnt bottoms. Ice maker was filthy and had huge chunks of white film. We asked to be moved, the answer from the manager Cory Akuhara (sp?) was "you can pay ANOTHER $65 a night to be upgraded". Very bad attitude, totally lacking in Aloha, and horrible service. Mr. Akuhara needs to go to hospitality training. Rude and unhelpful. We have read such glowing reviews of the VRBO units, I wanted to warn people against Castle. Most disappointing was that our entire first day of vacation was spent dealing with this, and trying to find another place to stay in the midst of busy season. But, we were totally unwilling to spend even one night in that condo.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Liane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahalekai, General Manager at Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences; however a number of key points are omitted regarding our efforts to respond to the guests concerns/desires.

A two (2) bedroom garden view unit was reserved. Requests were made of us to block a unit close to the ocean, close to our private Ocean Club and with a barbeque. Our front office staff exhausted all avenues to fulfill these requests. We were successful in fufilling two (2) of the three (3). We informed the guests of our inability to satisfy the third and last request, that of a barbeque. They were not happy. We did present them with alternate units within their garden view category, with barbeques directly across from their lanais. These units were located in another section of the property. This they declined.

It was at this point that the unit, and everything associated with it became unacceptable. We continued our efforts to work with the guests, offering to purchase new kitchen equipment to upgrading them to a larger (3 bedroom) ocean view unit for a nominal upgrade fee. This they declined as well. Finally, at the end of the day, they informed us of their decision to check out. As guest service and satisfaction has and is our goal, we canceled their reservation with no charges.

It saddens us that we did not succeed in our efforts to please these guests. As evidenced by our positive guest feedback and scores, this situation is an extraordinary one.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I don't know if Castle has access to all the condos on this property but if they do we were stuck at the gated entrance very far from the pool.

Very new and modern facility with all creature comforts. No complaints except the bedrooms lacked a good light source if the blinds were shut and at night. Almost needed a flashlight!

The pool itself was fabulous! Good access to shops nearby. A car is a
Must at this property, as it is on the Big Island!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Hail Kai grounds are superbly maintained. When you drive through the gates, it is like you are stepping onto a beautiful movie set. We stayed in building 10 on the ground floor, in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo that was equisitely decorated, and had community toys for us to use on our stay that I would never have lugged on the airplane, like boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas, a food cooler and more. The pull out bed even had a special comfortable air mattress on it that was great! The parking was covered and easy access to the condo which had a key code entry, so we didn't have to worry about losing keys or having multiples.

The view was of the golf course and if we stepped out on the large lawn we were able to see the lava fields and ocean. The Pool area was equisite and ideal for children as it wasn't deep, and there was a section for small children. The temparature was nice, not too cold, but not hot. Most of the lawn chairs were nicely padded, and there were fresh towels available. There wasn't a lifeguard on duty. There is a small bar/cafe area to get food and drinks. The drinks and the food were good and about 50% of the staff were pleasant. One woman in particular should be upgraded due to her not so lovely personality and service level. There are a number of older people at the resort and the pool area is quiet, but my kids were loud and no one complained or gave them any grief. There isn't access to swim in the ocean at this resort, but on this island with so many beaches to see for the waves, or the snorkeling, or the lava or the sand, we found it great to be able to get in and out quickly with the gear and the kids.

There is a walkway along the ocean side to the Hilton where we were able to quickly access the stores and restaurants there. Also on the main road to the resort, about 1.5 miles down the road there are great shops and restaurants, and there are large sidewalks and bike trails along side this road.

Great vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on the main floor for lawn access or higher up for better views. You want to be clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deannatami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Was somewhat apprehensive at first since this is not a well-known resort or brand name property. However, the 2-Bedroom/Bath Unit with a Full Kitchen was luxurious and just outstanding. Cannot wait to book another weekend at this simply fantastic resort property in Waikoloa soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our stay in unit 4c was superb. Check in was quick and easy and they knew we were a late arrival. Close and ample parking made it easy to load and unload our car each day. The 2 bedroom condo was nicely decorated, warm and inviting. The finishing touches really made a difference. I cooked dinner here 7 out of 10 nights and breakfast every morning and practically everything that I could have needed was here. Two nights we ate at the pool and the food was outstanding, truly relaxing and delightful. Can't beat a quiet sunset dinner by the ocean in Hawai'i. We did have some spotty internet issues but an email to the owner that was promptly replied to proved to be helpful. Thanks to the owners suggestion, we spent some time at the pool bar getting to know Craig the bartender. Order his Mai-Tai...you won't regret it!
The grounds and surrounding area are fantastic and we took the opportunity to take some long exposure photos of the stars just outside of the lanai. I always have problems sleeping but the comfy, cozy king bed and the laid-back atmosphere of the complex really helped me unwind and sleep. I would certainly come back here again and I can't say enough nice things about the Hali'i Kai.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lechein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
9.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
10.6 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.3 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.8 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.7 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: ₹ 18,766 - ₹ 41,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing