We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
220
23
6
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
23
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenbeautiful condohot tubhighly recommend this complexmanagement companyrental companytop floorthe big islandpool areathese condosdirect beach accesshigh end appliancesboogie boardsocean vieweasy walking distancethree bedroomliving area
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed in unit 9H at Kolea in June 2018. We have been to almost all the islands in Hawaii. Kolea on the big island is no doubt our favorite so far. The property was just absolutely stunning! There are beautiful flowers everywhere you turn. 9H is a two bed room unit that was perfect for my husband and me with our two kids. The master bedroom has a walk-in unit, a super comfortable bed, and a huge master bathroom. The second bedroom has two beds that was perfect for our two kids. 9H is right across from the beach club, where we end up going every day during our 1-week stay. The beach club has a nice heated pool, exercising facility, and the access to a white sand beach. The beach is lovely and perfectly private. We even saw a sea turtle on the beach. We have a bit of the view of the ocean from 9H patio, which is on the second floor. The unit has a nice kitchen with all kinds of ingredients and even a rice cooker, and a gas grill on the patio, which we took advantages of. The property is also close to many other nice beaches, grocery stores, and plenty of restaurants. The Foodland nearby had really good luau performance on Monday and Thursday for free! Kolea also gave us the access to Hilton facilities close by. It is worth going there to take a look - they have everything from dolphin training to waterfalls. We had probably the best family vacation there. We will be sure to come back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zhen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Had a decent view. Two nice masters. Walk in closets. These were nice apartments. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay in them again. You get to use the amenities at the Hilton. Came with everything you needed expect for food and clothes.

This particular apt was a little stingy on the towels, but had a washer and dryer so all was well.

The one small pool was kinda a bummer but we went to beaches and the Hilton and in the evening my kids would go down and relax a bit.

The houses on this property look amazing.

We rented through Waikoloa vacation rentals and everything was perfect. We dealt with a young lady named Jessica and she was outstanding in helping with our needs.

If we ever go back we would for sure return :)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jleigh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed in Kolea 11F last June. It was a 2 bedroom unit with everything you could dream of! The 3rd "TOP" floor level views from this penthouse gem are amazing! And don't worry about climbing stairs because yes there is an elevator. The unit is top-notch and comes with everything you need to make your stay complete.The pool, hot tub and the beach access to A-Bay are a dream come true. We travel a lot throughout the Caribbean and Hawaii and this unit takes the cake. #1 on our list and yes we will be back!! Mahalo!!

Room Tip: Kolea 11F is all you need to know...just bring the sunscreen!!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 934jakej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed in unit 15A at Kolea. We rented thru Waikoloa Vacation Rentals. Everything was great! I did not know the area before we came and thought the location was fantastic! It was easy walking distance to the Kings and Queens Shopping Centers. There is a great grocery store/market at the Queen's shops that is open late as well as several restaurants near by. With our rental we were able to use the Hilton facilities next door. The kids enjoyed the pools (at the Hilton)but actually preferred the quieter pace at Kolea.
The 3 bedroom condo is very spacious. We had more room than we needed. I loved being able to go for walks down to the beach and for this reason alone was more than thrilled with our selection. The condo was well stocked with necessities. Better than any place I have stayed! There was soap for the dish washer, laundry soap, hand soap, paper towels, TP, etc... So nice when you arrive to not have to hustle to a big grocery store for items that you will barely touch.
We had a lovely "garden view". Once I saw the units that looked at the water I was very jealous-haha. But the outdoor kitchen and patio were great and we made many meals "at home"!
Beautiful units and location, I would definitely stay here again. My one suggestion would be that the owners replace the light colored carpet with either a darker commercial grade carpeting or go with a hard surface floor. I am sure the carpeting was once beautiful but it was really stained and aged.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtraveler55118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed in Unit 14M at Kolea. It was everything that the website said it would be. The exercise room was open air and the equipment was very good (ellipticals, treadmill and Stationary bike). They also served complimentary coffee in the morning so you could sit by the pool or go for a walk along the beach in the early morning. The condo unit had everything you needed. You truly only have to bring clothes as everything else was provided from soap and shampoo, laundry detergent, plastic bags, etc. The grounds were immaculately maintained and very stunning. I would highly recommend Kolea at Waikoloa Beach.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews