We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautiful luxury!!”
Review of Fairway Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairway Villas
Vancouver Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautiful luxury!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March of 2012. The place is a 20 minute drive from the Kona airport and what a drive!! Volcanic rock for miles and miles. The office is in the mall, upstairs above Tiffanys, it's a gated community and very private. Upon entering the suite, we were knocked out of how big it was, how clean it was and how well stocked it was with EVERYTHING!! Pots, pans, glasses, dishes etc. Our view from our balcony over looked the man made lake and hole number four on the course.
The pool was fantastic and the hot tub devine!! The place had a gym and 10 Weber BBQ's for your use. We found the place very quiet at night and our upstairs neighbour was just fine.
There is a Roy's steakhouse in the mall, Macaroni Grill across the street and and market for food items as well.
We will be back and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    138
    39
    26
    12
See reviews for
198
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great place! We booked the 2 bedroom + 2 bathroom + loft, golf-view apartment.
Wired internet is available at only 1 point in the apartment and did not work in our apartment.

The bathroom in the master bedroom has a big bathtub and a few surf boards.

There's no door to the loft which is accessible via a spiral flight of stairs. There were 2 single beds in the loft. When the winds got strong at night, it got a little noisy as it blew against the ventilation fan. TV in the loft was slightly faulty but still mostly ok. No wardrobe in the loft, just some drawers.

2nd bedroom downstairs has 2 double beds and a wardrobe. Not sure whether the tv worked.

When we arrived, the 2 lamps in the living room were not working but they rectified them immediately the next day. The fire alarm started beeping loudly as it was running out of battery. Difficult to find anyone to help us with it in the middle of the night.

Kitchen is awesome! Lots of cutlery, utensils, plates and bowls for our use. Toaster and coffee-maker available too. There's everything you can possibly need!

Great to have washer and dryer too. Unfortunately the dryer sometimes made loud screeching noises.

Despite a few hiccups, we still loved the place. Especially loved having breakfast on the veranda watching people on the golf course and hanging out in the living room.

Living room has a TV and a comfy sofa and a big dining table.

Room cleaning was done only once every few days but the place was very clean nevertheless.

You would need to check-in at King's Shops! Make sure you've got the address for that!

Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very nice three bedroom, three bath with additional sofa bed in open area upstairs. Main floor had guest room with queen bed but if you are handicapped, the tub wall is very tall and there are no safety rails. There are two safes but they are upstairs. We lost a few items in our condo but they turned up later. Guess it was do to our disorganization.
SLEEP QUALITY: The beds were very comfortable and the accommodations over all were adequate, except the walls were thin and we had to use ear plugs.
POOL: The only complaint were had was that the small pool wasn't heated and was too cold to use and the hot tube was too hot. We set out home hot tube to 104 so it must have been hotter that that temperature.
CLEANLINESS: The carpets were in need of shampooing and had some bad stains upon entering. The dishes were actually dirty, so we had to rewash them.
SERVICE: We only had maid service twice during our stay of ten days and ran out of clean towels. We had a broken faucet and dishwasher, but my husband fixed the plugged filter on the dishwasher and we left the faucet to be fixed until after our stay. We instructed the main desk to not send a service man but he let himself into our condo anyway, which we didn't appreciate since we were napping.
LOCATION: Location is good if you want to be near nice beaches, but if you want to be near most of the activities and less expensive shopping, stay in the Kailua Kona area. They have a really good farmers market there also. Location mainly depends on what you want to do on the Big Island.
Over all we had a wonderful time at this condo and would go back again.

.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justme57166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband, our 2 year old, and our friend stayed in unit M1. We could not have been more pleased with the cleanliness, decor, and overall comfort of this 3 bedroom/3 bath villa. It provided us with an ample amount of space (wonderful for our 2-year old), and the kitchen had every appliance/tool needed for cooking. The unit is situated immediately behind the lake and golf course, and immediately beside the condo complex's pool/hot tub area. At first, I thought that this would be a problem because of noise, but it turned out to be very quiet. The unit provided so many little things, including a cooler for picnics, beach towels, sunscreen, beach chairs, laundry detergent, and so much more. We invited friends over for a barbeque on our lanai that were staying at the Waikoloa Marriott, and they were so impressed with (and jealous of) our villa .

The villas are just a short walk to the Queen's Marketplace and King's Shops, are next to nice walking/jogging trails, and a petroglyph field (ancient Hawaiian writings in lava rocks). The pool and hot tub are nice, and the barbeque grills were very nice and clean.

The one downside to the property is the check-in process. We drove around looking for an office to no avail. When we were told by an answering service that we dialed at the gate to go upstairs to the Outrigger property office in the King's Shops, we did, only to find that we needed to go somewhere else to check in. When we arrived at the correct place, no one answered the gate, and a nice guest who was waiting at the gate behind us allowed us in with her code. If not for her, who knows how long we would have waited. Just be prepared for a little confusion, and a not-so-easy check-in process.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay. Whether it was at the end of a long day of hiking in Volcano National Park, a day of snorkeling, or just a day at the beach, we were happy to come home to this warm and lovely villa, instead of a cramped hotel room. Although I am unsure of what the other villas in the complex are like, we were thoroughly impressed with this home away from home, and would strongly suggest this unit to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlchen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Outrigger Fairway Villas. The accommodations were clean and very liveable. The kitchen was clean, had granite counter tops, lots of supplies, and was great for our family of six. The pool ws good for our family. We bbq'd each evening. The State Park Beach is close by and an easy walk and even easier drive. The price of food and supplies at either the Kings or Queens Shops is terribly over-priced. Would recommend either Costco or drive up to Mauna Lani and use the Foodland (get a membership).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
10.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.5 km away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.2 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
3.4 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
1.6 km away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Villas

Property: Fairway Villas
Address: 69-200 Pohakulana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,847 - ₹ 89,248
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Fairway Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing