We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Island Hawaii - 2009”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vista Waikoloa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Waikoloa
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Island Hawaii - 2009”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I took this trip with our 18yo son. Flights were booked as frequent flyer rewards (10 months in advance).
We planned 7 nights on the BI and one night in Honolulu.

After searching for countless hours on VRBO, we rented a condo at the Vista Waikoloa complex. This was the best thing about our entire trip. We so enjoyed having a place to hang out and relax. The complex was lovely. We had received notice two weeks prior that the pool renovations would not be complete. We didn't know there were renovations. We were told we could use the pool at a neighboring complex but it was quite small and inconvenient. There was a workout center on site and computer/printer for boarding passes. Our son used the workout equipment at least once a day. We opted to leave the laptop at home and (surprisingly) had no withdrawal!

Our unit faced Mauna Kea and the golf course. I was originally disappointed that we did not have an ocean view. But so enjoyed watching the mountain. We would sit on the lanai and watch as it turned nearly red as the sun set. It was almost magical. We drove to Waikoloa Village for groceries the first day. After that, we went to the Queen Shops for sandwiches, etc because it was so much more convenient. Wal-Mart in Kona was great and the new Target should be open now.

We chose Waikoloa for its nearly guaranteed sunshine, which was a good thing. Nearly everywhere we drove, it rained. We took a day to go up the north Kohala coast. Stopped in Hawi for a frozen banana. Enjoyed the scenery and art galleries but there isn't much else there.

The day we drove to the volcano, it poured. We paid to get into the park but it was raining so hard you couldn't see the car ahead, much less walk to the lava. We stopped at the gallery/shop but left without hiking as planned or seeing much else. We drove up via Puna and stopped at the black sand beach. It was cloudy but we still enjoyed the sand and watchng the people. We drove back via Saddle Road, which has been nicely paved. It's still quite a windy road but beautiful.

We drove to South Point. Beautiful sunshine the entire way. Stopped at Bayview Farms coffee factory. We didn't take a tour but bought plenty of Kona Coffee. We drove far past where you should with a rental car but the little HHR we had did great.

The closest beach was A bay. We walked from the condo. It's great to meet the locals, although there are plenty of tourists.

We drove to Kona a few times. We went to an open air market and bought a few gifts. Everything from t-shirts (cheaper than the fancy boutiques for the same item) to handmade pottery and fresh flowers.

Besides our GPS (we brought our own instead of going with the rental car "sales pitch". It paid for itself just this trip). I took "The Big Island Revealed" guide book. It was fantastic for finding parking lots and hidden pathways. Everything in it was true to form. We opted to avoid the fixed tours and do our own exploring. This book went with us everywhere.

Each Hawaiian island has unique features. The Big Island is not known for beaches. We chose it for the volcano and the sunshine. The weather interefered with our volcano trip. If I had had a crystal ball, we would have chosen Maui for the beaches. However, Hawaii is always beautiful. Their culture is truly fascinating. It's impossible to have a bad trip...

Helpful?
7 Thank moore1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Excellent unit, well maintained, second floor with picture perfect golf view, very spacious (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, big living room, big kitchen, oldish but perfectly working), tasteful interior - extremely interesting rates.

When we entered the unit the rest of the family was thrilled!

Helpful?
1 Thank elsabiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Hi, just got back from staying here and we had the best time ever. This condo is a top floor unit that is all done up in island theme. It was great. They have everything and then some here. The owners even made sure we had a an extra bed with sleeping bag. They gave us places to see and everything. The condo was stocked full. Boogie board, beach towels, sand toys and chairs and umbrella. I mean this place rocks. We are coming back again next winter. Thanks and would we would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Stayed in C 104 (VRBO) dealt with owner directly, and had a good experience with the owner. However, the on site management contact person was not responsive and it took several attempts by not only me but also the owner before any response was heard from the management company. Fortunately, the owner went out of her way to be available and responsive to certain situations that arose during my stay. The unit itself was really nice, first floor and over looked the pool and through a break in the trees the ocean was visible. Enjoyed the fitness facility, and appreciated assigned parking. On some evenings there were noisy folks in the pool/hot tub, but they usually cleared out at a reasonable hour. Was impressed with the whole Waikoloa complex and how conveniently located it was to shopping, airport, and nice beaches. Now if only we would have had a little less rain.......oh well, that's the tropics for you! Thanks to the owners of C 104 and Vista Waikoloa.

  • Liked — first floor and location in complex
  • Disliked — little to no response from on site management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Californiz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

We rented unit B105 on July 5th - 10th. We enjoyed the villa and complex but am disappointed in how the payment for the unit is being managed. First, the full amount was credited twice to my Visa. It took several emails to get the reversal for the duplicate entry. We still have an outstanding security deposit refund of $200.00 which has not been credited or accounted for. I've written several email and left voice message to the owner inquiring on the credit of the security deposit. In the last email the owner stated "I don't do the refunds for deposits. It goes through the central office..". You can easily find another unit, much nicer, lower cost with less hassle.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condo Management/Billing issues
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
2.2 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
10.7 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.5 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#7 of 12 in Waikoloa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.5 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.4 km away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Waikoloa

Property: Vista Waikoloa
Address: 69-1010 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5732
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,685 - ₹ 16,897
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Waikoloa is centrally located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort and offers spacious condominiums with fairway and ocean views of beautiful Anaeho'omalu Bay. Enjoy easy walking access to shops and restaurants at the Kings' Shops and Queen's Marketplace. All guests have free use of the Vista Waikoloa Recreation Center which includes a heated lap pool, two hot tubs, a large pavilion with gas BBQ's, a business center with WIFI and a fitness room. The check-in office is located on-site open 7 days a week with staff to personally greet you when you arrive. In terms of value, location and quality, the Vista is an excellent choice for your next stay at the Waikoloa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing