We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$329
View deal
Expedia.com
$329
View deal
Booking.com
$323
View deal
Hilton$376
Travelocity$329
Trip.com$579
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
125
86
110
81
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
86
110
81
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner beautiful property large pool dolphin quest view of the ocean full kitchen sea turtles great resort fish grocery store pools hgv grounds toaster slides canal paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2022

This was our first time at this resort. The place, the whole resort, is huge. The tram is nice, but pretty slow; sometimes it's better to walk. The resort in general is very expensive for everything. You pay daily to park your car or valet it. Food and drinks are expensive. The Nui Italian place was nice and convenient, but paying $30+ for a pizza is a bit much. I paid for 3 adults and 2 kids, and it cost me over $150 with 1 drink each for the adults. We stayed in the Ocean Tower. Our room was behind the main lobby. Birds were loud and chirping at 5AM. No biggy...we got used to it. The room was ok, nothing special. It was clean. We called/texted the hotel multiple times for linens and they were prompt bringing them. The room has a small fridge (you can't adjust the temp). The biggest grip is no microwave. Spending $150 for food and having leftovers you have no way to reheat. But wait.....for $30 a day you can rent a microwave. That, to me, was over the top. Another negative was places close way to early, like 5PM. So your food options are very limited on site after 5. We were actually next in line at the ice cream place and they closed at 4. The woman finihsed the order for the person in front of us, closed the window and waved us off. Another 10 minutes would not kill her to serve us a $7-8 ice cream. Overall, we liked the place. Lots of pools, the lagoon was nice, and you can snorkel in the ocean right there. The Luau was excellent.

Date of stay: June 2022
4  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Ocean Tower Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Aloha and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear of the aspects you enjoyed about your stay with the views and our onsite amenities. We apologize for the challenges you encountered which left you short of being fully satisfied with your visit. We are working diligently to regain your faith in our resort and hope we have another opportunity to host you when you return to Waikoloa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

Not clean. Mold under sink in bathroom that would not drain, AC That wasn't working properly and bed bug bites!! Just gross. Carpet was so sticky and nasty. This place was filthy and I didn't even get an apology about the bed bugs. When I called to discuss I was told this was a graveyard shift and to call back some other time.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank chitowngirl330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Ocean Tower Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Aloha and thank you for your review. We invest in a comprehensive, professional pest control program and when we are alerted of any unwelcome pests, we have a representative dispatched to conduct and investigation and treat the room in question if needed. We apologize if this process was not explained to you. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping leadership team for further review and coaching with their teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

I feel truly sorry for the intern that has to respond to these reviews. It is clear that this property is run as a cash cow - there is no management onsite, hardly anyone seemingly working at this 1200+ room hotel.

The grounds are wonderful. Nothing else is.

Room smells like mildew? Check.

Room hasn’t been renovated since seemingly 1988? Check.

Do you like mediocre $175 breakfast for a family of 4? This is your place.

Do you like to choose between a .75mile walk or waiting 20 minutes for the slowest tram ever on the way to your $39/night parking?
You will love it.

Do you like asking for the manager and being told “the manager is off for 4th of July week and not reachable?”
Sold.

40 minutes in line for coffee for them to run out before 9am? Check.

The service here is so bad it’s almost like it’s being done actively since it’s hard to imagine that anyone trying anything at all could do worse.

Do yourself a favor, stay at the Marriott next door or the Westin down the road. You won’t regret it - trust me.

Oh and for the person who will inevitably write “renovations are scheduled and we are working to remedy the issues blah blah blah” - SERIOUSLY- reconsider your employment choices.

PATHETIC.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Ocean Tower Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Aloha Paul and thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your comment about the wonderful campus grounds. Hilton Grand Vacations purchased Ocean Tower in late 2018 and the rooms were turned over to us in stages. Just before the pandemic started, the entire tower was fully turned over to us. Naturally, the pandemic impacted more aspects of everyday life and business in more ways than anyone could have ever imagined. No one anticipated the staffing shortages that would follow even after the islands of Hawai'i were reopened fully to all tourists and still exist today. All onsite food and beverage outlets are owned and operated by third parties and they too struggle with staffing shortages as well as supply and demand challenges. We have shared the cleanliness issues you listed with our housekeeping leadership teams for further review and coaching with their team members. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay as this is never what we wish for any of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022

Don't waist your money on this property unless you are an owner of the timeshare you feel like you don't belong there. When I booked the rooms, the site showed very modern rooms. When we arrived at the Hotel we were told that these rooms are for owners only.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank ulloaseverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Ocean Tower Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Aloha and thank you for your review. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your room. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2022 via mobile

OMG as much as the grounds are beautiful it doesn’t compensate for the run down / old rooms and the non-friendly staff.
We are in a 1 king + pull out room by Hilton grand vacation tower: the pull out bed is of the worse and cheap kind and you can feel the springs in your back. Half of the light bulbs in the room did not work. There is no microwave in the room (they charge $30 for it). The bathroom is tiny and you cannot turn around from the toilet without hitting the shower. Parking is a ripoff for $38/day !!

Do yourself a favor and don’t stay here!!

Room tip: Parking is $38/day. The rooms are very old. The grounds are big, so get ready for a lot of walking.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Ocean Tower Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Aloha and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you found our campus grounds to be beautiful. We apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay with your room and amenities. We hope you were able to enjoy your time exploring our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews