We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
View at dining table.
View of dinning area and kitchen from the sitting room.
Sitting room with large picture windows and a propane fireplace for those cold mountain nights.
Entry way to the cottage.
View at sitting room through a big picture window.
Night time garden view at sitting room
Night time garden view
View at side deck
Front view of cottage
Pathway to cottage with rock wall
Rainbow over Mountain Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzy C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous location in the bush, cosy and comfortable, perfect place to explore from. Appreciated the coffee, chocolates and honey. Loads of info on restaurants, hikes and places to visit which was great. Didn't want tot leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bush setting
Liked least: Hot water pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivian L
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like no place else!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My first impression upon getting out of the car was that this was a very special place. It feels completely nestled in a Hawaiian forest (but it's minutes away from town). Don't expect to find extravagance here or bad attitudes. Instead, Candice and Richard made sure we felt completely enveloped in a cozy and inviting home. They personally greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. We also found thoughtful little treats tucked around the Haven (love the chocolates, honey, books, crystals and fresh flowers from their own garden).

We came to Volcano for hiking and exploring the Park. Candice and Richard had guide books, recommendations and a homemade sightseeing tour binder ready for us! The location was also very close to the National Park and restaurants, less then a 5 minute drive.

It's been about 5 days since we left the Haven and I'm still beaming from my stay. Highly recommend this place and look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S. W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refuge in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was spotless and excellently maintained. The house itself is surrounded by dense tree ferns and "bamboo orchids". Every window has looks out on greenery.

Water is supplied by rainwater collected on the property. Although there was no shortage of it (there is a reason the location is called a rain forest) the process for using the sink and shower is a little different. Just pay attention to the instructions and it will work great.

There is a gas space heater in the living room and an electric one in the bedroom. These were great to have after being drenched by a sudden downpour while hiking in the nearby Nation Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slrahn
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“You will never be the same��”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We crossed our fingers and hope the Haven would be as pictured and described. It is so much more than that. We made simple dinners, packed lunches, hiked, stargazed and sat by the fire listening to soothing Hawaiian music. We are renewed and refreshed and forever grateful to Richard, Candice and Margaret for far exceeding our expectations. We got so much more than we came for

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, enjoyed our stay. Very clean, scenic and pleasant. We look forward to stay here again. Candice is really approachable and made sure we have everything in place and responded promptly. Very peaceful, enjoyed the birds humming, greenery around. I wish we stayed longer!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing