We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded Wonderful Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
View at dining table.
View of dinning area and kitchen from the sitting room.
Sitting room with large picture windows and a propane fireplace for those cold mountain nights.
Entry way to the cottage.
View at sitting room through a big picture window.
Night time garden view at sitting room
Night time garden view
View at side deck
Front view of cottage
Pathway to cottage with rock wall
Rainbow over Mountain Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RL R
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

In a word: charming. If you enjoy quiet, secluded locations surrounded by a riot of lovely plant and bird life, where you can't see your neighbors, then go here.
This place is well appointed and comfortable. The owners are thoughtful and provide some basics in the kitchen (including their own delightful honey), and many little things to make your stay great in the area.
They are also very responsive and provide immediate attention to any problem (the propane ran out while we were there and someone was by to replace it in less than 30 min).
I would absolutely recommend it and return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiesta...
San Anselmo, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We instantly fell in love with Volcano Mountain Haven”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have selected accommodations many times on the internet and have put a lot of time and energy into the research. There's always a concern that the choice will live up to it's description. Volcano Mountain Haven not only lived up to it's description, but for the first time it surpassed all of my expectations. It is the perfect place for a retreat -private, quiet, beautiful surroundings inside and out, uncluttered but elegantly laid out with big windows that bring the outside in - even after dark you could turn on the garden lights and enjoy the beautiful garden. We never wanted to use any of the available window coverings - we wanted to be immersed in our tropical forest setting. The owners have thought of everything! There wasn't a single thing lacking - essentials for the kitchen including their delicious homemade honey, umbrellas, local guides, fresh flower arrangements from the garden throughout, zip lock bags, ad infinitum. The proximity to Volcano National Park couldn't have been better, and provided good access to the entire Big Island for daily activities. The touristy flavor of Hawaii could be reached but also left behind. The only problem was that we did not give ourselves enough time to do the tourist and adventure things and get to spend time in this special retreat. As we would take off in the morning, we longed to stay put and relax in this peaceful retreat. We will be back, and next time we will make sure we have enough days to do this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely,private, clean property in a tropical rain forest
Liked least: nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brittany...
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Volcano Mountain Haven was a wonderful place to wake up at and spend our evenings after our long days of exploring. The songs of the birds in the mornings was wonderful! Everything you need to feel right at home. The Volcanos National Park is a wonderful park to explore and this accommodation is right near the entrance also. Candice and Richard are wonderful as well. Couldn't recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Brittany & Kyle are the most adventurous guests we have met. They were out early morning exploring until late in the evening. We didn't think they have much time to enjoy the cottage! We were glad that they enjoyed the cottage and appreciate the Hawaiian native song birds's songs. Waking up to lovely songs of birds is also one of our favorite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K S
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful, intimate experince with the Big Island.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This little cottage was simply perfect. From the gorgeous picture window overlooking the jungle outside to the headlamps graciously provided by our hosts for night adventures, Candice and Richard have thoughtfully surrounded their guests with Island Aloha. This was my first time on the Big Island and I wanted to experience all it had to offer. With the view of the jungle outside Candice brings the color palate inside and everything flows brilliantly. It might not seem like a big thing but everything in the cottage is designed to reflect the environment. It truly is a mountain haven. We stayed four days and with the recommendations of Richard and Candice we had so many wonderful adventures. I can't even say how valuable that insider information was for us. The black sand beach, the farmer's market in Hilo, the caldera at night, the jungle hike through the crater, it was breathtaking. I've already recommended this cottage to friends. There are a few things that need to be considered: there is no broadcast TV (not that we wanted to be inside watching TV but it was a playoff weekend) , if you have allergies bring your meds. This place is amazing, if you have the opportunity to stay here, take it. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the windows that brought the Island inside.
Liked least: Nothing really, I enjoyed this cottage imensely.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
We really enjoyed meeting Kristine & Kiehl. They are very personable and we enjoyed talking with them tremendously. They were very respectful of our cottage. We are very appreciative of that. We would welcome Kristine & Kiehl anytime if they ever come back to Hawaii.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing