We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Anthurium Alii Gardens Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anthurium Alii Gardens Cottage from the garden.
Fireplace in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Anthurium Alii Gardens Cottage from the garden.
Fireplace in the living room
Located minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and the eruption!!!
The master bedroom is decorated with antiques. Beds are high end hotel quality.
One of the beautifully decorated bedroom. Beds are high end hotel quality.
Anthurium Garden rainforest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tyler M
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming and cozy. Beautiful property, like a hideaway in the forest.
Quiet location and a good place to retreat. Can get chilly in the evenings, so prepare some wood for the fireplace in advance.
It can use some additional dusting and detail cleaning, but that does add to the "cottage in the woods" experience. The jacuzzi could also use some preparation, so might ask in advance. Everything we needed was there and available. It's really a nice place to stay, and we wished we could've stayed longer, and had planned in a few more days to sit and relax there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDM102015
Orange County, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely atmosphere and beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The location was fairly easy to find even when arriving at night. The gate was open and the keys were available as described. The grounds are beautiful. We had some plumbing stop up briefly, but were able to locate a plunger in the garage area and took care of it easily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at Anthurium Alii Gardens! I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the place, welcome back,Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbguceg
La Grange, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As advertised, very comfortable, quiet, well situated, better than expected.”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were extremely pleased to find the property as shown and described in trip advisor. We stayed for a total of 4 weeks and used the property as our based for visiting the Eastern side of the island. The service manager was very helpful and met all of our needs. We were able to cook meals if we wished or use the nearby available cafes or restaurants. We did a combination during our stay. We used the fireplace every morning before preparing our breakfast. There are plenty of local fruit markets near Hilo that we used to always have tropical fruit for the main part of our breakfast. It only takes about 5 minutes to reach the entrance to the volcano park from the house and about 20 minutes to drive to Hilo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything needed was available, it was spacious and comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytose...
madrid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy cottage”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely place in the rainforest. Since it rained almost constantly while we were there, we used the fireplace and the hot tub, which are lovely features of this lovely house. Very thoughtful owners, left us water, sugar, coffee, and other nice touches. Very convenient to the Volcano and town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you so much Birgit, happy holidays, welcome back mahalo nui, Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneW4...
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely, perfectly charming!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an incredibly charming, well appointed house! The grounds are lush and beautiful and the secluded little outside seating area allows such a peaceful, intimate respite. The home is richly appointed with leather seating, antique looking furniture, tropical accents, a cozy fireplace and an inviting dining area. There are ample small appliances, such as a coffee maker, blender, a delightful ceramic tea pot, cooking utensils, etc and the hosts supplied fresh chilled bottled drinking water (since the house water is reclaimed rain water and a little off colored. Not harmful, just odd for someone not used to it!), condiments, coffee and tea. At first we were concerned at the lack of AC or fans, but the evenings get so cool that it's not necessary. The mosquitos aren't too bad, but it's wise to light the OFF coils and spray. The hot tub was FABULOUS! We were fortunate enough to have a full moon and the atmosphere was truly magical :)
In the separated guest house we heard the pitter patter of little feet above our heads during the day, but fortunately, they were quiet at night - no tiny intruders! All the bathrooms have jet tubs and very nice fixtures. The guest house bathroom is small, but very usable.
We did some cooking, but then got take out from Thai Thai for supper - YUM!
We were only there for one night but I highly recommend this location for any amount of nights. Beautiful, relaxing, peaceful... We kept saying "Wish we could stay longer!"
Excellent all around!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Ummm.... maybe some fans in the bedrooms would be nice...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing