We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for Retirement Couple”
other travellers have booked this property
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling
Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Watch for birds by day and stargaze at night on our huge lanai.  See Kilauea's glow on clear nights!
Take in the rainforest views while you cook from our fully stocked and spacious kitchen
Sleep peacefully on our queen size master bed featuring memory foam mattress and hotel bedding
Relax on the oversized futon, which folds out to become a second queen size bed with spring mattress
Cozy up on the cool nights by our wood burning stove
There are many interesting plants to see on our property, especially the hapu'u ferns
Enjoy the beautiful views from the nearby beaches all within a short drive from our house
Revel in the the magnificent hawaiian sunsets
Take a trip to Kalapana to witness Pele's power and watch the Big Island grow
Make the short 10-15 min drive from our house to see KIlauea's spectacular glow at night
Kilauea is just as spectacular in the daytime
Drive to Punaluu Beach to relax in the sun with the turtles
Take Mauna Loa drive to the overlook to see Kilauea from up on high
Explore and enjoy the numerous waterfalls of the east side of the island
Catch a glimpse of snow on Mauna Kea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Balls2
Ayr, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for Retirement Couple”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at Hale Hubner for 5 days in January 2014. The cottage is located very close to the National Park and a small village. It is not far along a one track road surrounded by palm trees and bush. It is quiet and cool and a very relaxing place. With a fully equipped kitchen, we were able to eat in sometimes, or enjoy the internet or TV. We didn't use the deck, but it is a lovely place to sit outside and enjoy the calmness of the retreat. With being close to the little volcano village, we had at least 3 choices to eat out. We were glad that we took up Matt's recommendation to pick up bottled water and some groceries before leaving the main town (in our case Hilo) - where there is more selection and I think lower cost. Overall, we were very content and enjoyed our stay at Hale Hubner and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet retreat
Liked least: A bit cold in the mornings due to high elevation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles K
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful cottage!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hale Hubner provided the perfect setting for our stay near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The location was ideal for easy and quick access for day hikes and early morning lava viewing.
The cottage itself is so comfortable, cozy and well appointed. We enjoyed the wood burning stove, the deck and the fully equipped kitchen. We highly recommend Hale Hubner and hope to return! Thank you for sharing this lovely cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orion8103
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Cozy, Rainforest Getaway”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful, secluded wood cabin surrounded by lush green rainforest. We stayed here for a week and it is a quick drive to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo. It is a great place to stay for anyone who wants to do some day hiking over at Kilauea. Some things to keep in mind is that the elevation is about 4000ft and it is a RAINforest, but the cabin is well equipped with a wood burning stove, bed heaters, and an electric heater to ward off the chill that creeps in during the night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Corpus Christi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to explore the Hawaiian volcanos area”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hale Hubner is a cozy cottage located in the rainforest above Volcano village. It situated on 0.3 acres in lush vegetation that supports a large variety of endemic Hawaiian birds.The location is quiet and remote, yet within about 10 minutes (3 miles) of Volcanos National Park and its excellent hiking trails and exhibits. Several top restaurants (e.g., Volcano House, Kilauea Lodge restaurant) and other area attractions are located within a few minutes of the cottage. The cottage is well appointed and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, internet WiFi, TV, stereo and several hundred DVDs. The wood stove provides a warm respite from the cool evenings found at this higher elevation. During our stay, a nice bottle of wine from the Volcano winery was left for us. This cottage is really a nice break from the traffic and tourist scene.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Volcano National Park.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhaef
Edwards, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for base to explore Volcanos National Park and surroundings!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found Hale Hubner to be the perfect spot to stay while exploring the Volcanoes National Park area. Being only about 2 miles from the park entrance, and mile from the village of Volcano, it is very convenient. To me, one of the most important things about renting someone's home, is that the bed is comfortable, and this one certainly meets the test. The kitchen is very well supplied, so if you choose to eat in, that is well taken care of. Cable TV with loads of channels and the WiFi works great. The House really feels like a tree house as the rain forest is in close view from all the windows, many floor to ceiling. We didn't use the deck, due to drizzles in the evenings, but it is very roomy. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance in the rain forest
Liked least: Stairs to climb could be bothersome for some
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing