We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for Volcano, comfortable...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hale Ma‘ukele

View of the house from the backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the house from the backyard
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of the house from the backyard
Living room
Open floor plan
The kitchen is fully equipped
Dining room
Back Deck
Backyard
Hot Tub
Upstairs hallway
Master Bedroom, with a king size bed
Master bathroom
Second bedroom, with two full size beds
Laundry room
Second bathroom on the second floor
Third bedroom, with a queen size bed
Bathroom downstairs
Propane fireplace
View from Street
Sign
Hot Tub in the Forest
Protea flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Darlene51
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Volcano, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 with our extended family. It was within 10 minutes of Volcano National Park and so close that you could easily come back for lunch or a rest between hikes or to go back to the park for the night view of the crater. The bedrooms were very comfortable, the 2 and a half baths were a plus, and as everyone mentions, the woodwork that was done by the owner is lovely. The hot tub is in a nice setting in the yard. The convenience and comfort combined this into a perfect accommodation for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: curved driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnal55
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

A gorgeous house! Stunning wood, lovely decor, secluded hot tub under the stars and palm trees,, close to the volcano national park. I wish the owner would come and build some woodwork for our house! And, very thoughtful touches like a fridge well stock with fresh greens and breakfast items, shampoo in the showers, rooms heaters to take the chill off at night. The park is astounding and after hiking, it was heaven to come home to such a beautiful spot in a rainforest, with birds singing. Anyone would love this house. And try the great Thai restaurant nearby..amazing food! Thanks Adam !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the house and location
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFam...
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Need a Home Base at Volcanoes National Park? Stay at Hale Ma_ukele”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

My family of six adults traveled to Hawaii to hike Volcanoes National Park January 10-13, 2012. I searched Trip Advisor to find the perfect, local rental for the trip. After contacting six property managers and gettng prices and details, we chose Hale Ma_ukele based on its proximity to the park (~1 mile) and the good reviews and the property's nice pictures and website. We were very pleased with our choice. The home is beautiful, open and comfortable as described. Adam, the property manager, is very easy to work with and very responsive to emails. The property is well maintained and well-priced. It is so close to Volcanoes National Park that we were able to hike, return to Hale Ma_ukele for lunch, and then go back to the park again for more hiking. Our group agreed that Hale Ma_ukele is a superb property in a perfect location for families who want to maximize their time at Volcanoes. The first night, the hot tub didn't work, but Adam was very quick to have it fixed the next day and credited us to make up for our disappointment. If I were to plan the vacation again, I would definitely stay at Hale Ma_ukele for my Volcanoes National Park but would also plan in some time to stay at a beachfront resort as well. The Volcanoes area is a rain forest so it was a little rainier and cooler day and night at the property than I had expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 18 October 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Columbus Ohio
Reviewed 17 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing