We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much fun!”
other travellers have booked this property
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance cedar hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance
cedar hot tub
treehouse from lava boulders below
ascent to treehouse
front door
lanai
dining al fresco
inside - jotul heating stove, ships ladder to trapdoor
indoor table top in window
kitchen
cooktop & sink
sidelight at front door
living room
looking out through speakeasy window
cedar hot tub
bedroom
treehouse in forest
outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TrudyTrav...
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The treehouse was cute and very fun! We loved the very short walk through the rainforest to get to the treehouse. We took many photos before even entering. Everything you need is right there. There is a stove and mini fridge available if you need to cook something up. The bathroom was clean and easy to use. There is a television with dvd available if you want to relax watching a movie or listen to music. Sitting in the hot tub at night, listening to the sounds of the forest was amazing. I had a couple questions and they quickly texted me back which I appreciated. I would definitely recommend the treehouse. The only thing I would suggest is bringing some ear plugs because when it does rain, the rain and drops from the trees onto the roof can be loud for a light sleeper. Don't miss out on this experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2013
Aloha! Thanks for giving us a review. Good advice for the light sleepers. Living in the rainforest, we are always happy when it rains at night. We imagine we are being giving the gift of night time rain and daytime sun - always hoping for that arrangement, and used to the sound of rain on the roof. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon spot!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Incredible place to spend a few nights on our honeymoon! Very peaceful, and has every amenities you'd need in a treehouse. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor shower
Liked least: compost toilet, but it worked fine and didn't smell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
Thanks for the review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just wow!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Background: we were travelling independently around California and Hawaii and were keen to avoid standard hotel stays.
Arrival: met by a delightful lady who showed us around and explained everything.
Accommodation: this is an unbelievable experience, beautifully designed, super comfortable bed, plenty of hot water for the outside shower, lovely fire that heated the room up almost instantly, quiet, dark and wonderful.
Observations: compost toilet, everyone should have one.
Area: 5 minutes from the National Park and the village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying somewhere unique
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Aloha ~ thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your treehouse stay. Delighted you enjoyed the change from a more standard stay. Our pleasure to provide an experience to match the excitement of the Big Island. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikellOsb...
2 reviews
“Best way to celebrate an Anniversary!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Every expectation was met and exceeded to the fullest! The treehouse was comfortable and clean with all the amenities we needed. The hot tub was steaming when we arrived! Noe was great to come and make sure the next morning the hot tub was ready to go and we had everything we needed. She was so sweet and friendly! The details in the treehouse made me swoon. I loved the thought and care it must have taken to build and design such a wonderful structure. The location was absolutely perfect! We spent the two days here at the Volcano Park and were so happy to have the treehouse close enough we could come back and rest/eat. We LOVED the Kileuea Lodge. Breakfast/lunch/dinner it all was delicious and the staff was friendly. We had lots of rain and cool weather, which is exactly what we were hoping for! We loved being able to bundle up and enjoy the surroundings.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2013
Aloha ~ Very happy the stay met your expectations. For those who are not Hawaii residents, the idea of bundling up may seem oddball here. But as a respite from the summer heat, the cool mountaintop, a steaming hot tub, a room with a fireplace for warmth are welcome changes. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikitastr...
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
“Oh My Goodness, there is a hot tub in this treehouse!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

If resorts aren't your thing and you crave a little bit of fun and adventure, book this place now! My husband is an engineer and this place tickled his technical side and amused his inner child. The outdoor shower was a little chilly to get started but it was worth it to shower in a tropical jungle. Luxurious bedding, classy decor and clever use of space made the treehouse a delight to explore. The trail from the car was short and well-maintained and the ladders were very manageable in the rain and dark. At every turn we found clever little details, like orchids in the trees, a intricately painted bathroom sink, and handcrafted wood design elements. The hot tub was just the right size for two and allowed for a soothing elevated soak in a treehouse nestled in lush surroundings. The porch off the second-story bedroom is a relaxing location to watch trees sway in the breeze, cozy in the plush provided robes. My husband is not a big fan of composting toilets, but even he had to admit it was the best one he'd used. The compost smelled like potpourri and the system was well-maintained - there was not a detectable human odor at all. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Hawaii and we very highly recommend this place to anyone, especially people who like a little adventure with a lot of luxury and have an inner child that longs for a treehouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little details that delighted us around every corner
Liked least: Darkness of the path to the tree house at night - Could add a few little solar lights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your experience. Very happy it touched your fantasies.

The path and lighting for it is something we have discussed often. Solar lights do not get enough power to light up at night and they would be perfect. Full on electric path lights are an obvious answer, but we have so far gone with the adventure element and offer the headlamps, as being more ecofriendly and more fun. We know it is daunting however, so, perhaps we will cave in and install path lights...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing