We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh My Goodness, there is a hot tub in this...”
other travellers have booked this property
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance cedar hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance
cedar hot tub
treehouse from lava boulders below
ascent to treehouse
front door
lanai
dining al fresco
inside - jotul heating stove, ships ladder to trapdoor
indoor table top in window
kitchen
cooktop & sink
sidelight at front door
living room
looking out through speakeasy window
cedar hot tub
bedroom
treehouse in forest
outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kikitastr...
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
“Oh My Goodness, there is a hot tub in this treehouse!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

If resorts aren't your thing and you crave a little bit of fun and adventure, book this place now! My husband is an engineer and this place tickled his technical side and amused his inner child. The outdoor shower was a little chilly to get started but it was worth it to shower in a tropical jungle. Luxurious bedding, classy decor and clever use of space made the treehouse a delight to explore. The trail from the car was short and well-maintained and the ladders were very manageable in the rain and dark. At every turn we found clever little details, like orchids in the trees, a intricately painted bathroom sink, and handcrafted wood design elements. The hot tub was just the right size for two and allowed for a soothing elevated soak in a treehouse nestled in lush surroundings. The porch off the second-story bedroom is a relaxing location to watch trees sway in the breeze, cozy in the plush provided robes. My husband is not a big fan of composting toilets, but even he had to admit it was the best one he'd used. The compost smelled like potpourri and the system was well-maintained - there was not a detectable human odor at all. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Hawaii and we very highly recommend this place to anyone, especially people who like a little adventure with a lot of luxury and have an inner child that longs for a treehouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little details that delighted us around every corner
Liked least: Darkness of the path to the tree house at night - Could add a few little solar lights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your experience. Very happy it touched your fantasies.

The path and lighting for it is something we have discussed often. Solar lights do not get enough power to light up at night and they would be perfect. Full on electric path lights are an obvious answer, but we have so far gone with the adventure element and offer the headlamps, as being more ecofriendly and more fun. We know it is daunting however, so, perhaps we will cave in and install path lights...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherryWis...
Hazel Green, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“artistically cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

unfortunately only had a partial day and night related to my late arrival from hiking craters at volcano park then up 3am for sunrise lava boat tour (do it for sure!) - so because i enjoyed the place so much i forfeited sleep as wanted to have as much time as able enjoying all the amenities - price is actually $275 / night with the added cleaning fee which i felt was high for my situation at least and owner would not consider any reduction in leu of little time spent there - no complaint tho just commenting on this

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: artistic coziness
Liked least: cleaning fee
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
Aloha ~ we are happy you chose to stay with us, and glad you enjoyed the treehouse. I searched for our correspondence to find the discussion and see how the pricing part unfolded but either we spoke in person or it is lost. Often times guests ask us to waive the cleaning fee when they stay only one night. We cannot do that. The treehouse has to be prepared anew for each guest. As you can tell having stayed there this involves carrying all the used items down and the fresh ones up. We provide ample linens for comfort and enjoyment of the hot tub and the shower, and also must service the hot tub and compost toilet. We pay those who help us out well, as we value their attentions to your comfort. It is for these reasons we cannot waive the fees for single nighters. Hope to see you again, next time for longer. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sro406
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Most Unique Place We've Ever Stayed.”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a great time staying in the tree house. Everything was as advertised so we had no real surprises. Someone came everyday to check on things which was comforting. The setting was amazing and peaceful but not so secluded that it felt creepy. The shower was so fun and warm enough that even on cooler mornings it was comfortable. There were a few little slugs in the shower which may startle you. As for bugs, we only saw one live spider. However, probably my only complaint was the amount of spider webs up in the bedroom rafters. Well that and the long night we had listening to the rain beat on the tin roof, but that was no one's fault. If you are even slightly adventurous, then you'll enjoy your stay. Overall it was a fun couple of days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower and hot tub.
Liked least: The tin roof.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for the review, and we are happy you stayed at the treehouse.
As you know, the treehouse gets daily service, and we are on the alert for spider webs. If we miss the spiders though they can be very industrious in a single day. I will alert our crew to be more vigilant.

Glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camaraa
Upland, California
1 review
“Highlight of our honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This treehouse was absolutely fantastic! Nestled in the rainforest, secluded from other houses, we had our little hideaway in the canopy! The owners have thought of everything, from luxurious hardwoods throughout down to a kitchen with everything you need, gas stove heater and a hot tub, and don't forget the headlamps to help you find your way from the driveway in the dark! Showering outdoors (with plenty of warm water) was wonderful, and the bed "upstairs" was so soft and cozy. This was our first stop on our honeymoon, and had nobody been renting the place after us, we would have gladly stayed.

Don't be put off by the composting toilet -- it had absolutely no odor whatsoever. We were really amazed!

Light sleepers might wish to bring earplugs -- the rain on the roof did make it difficult to sleep one night until I found my earplugs.

It is convenient to the volcano and Hilo. We were sad to leave and would come back in a heartbeat. This was even better than the luxury resort we booked later in our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and quiet in the trees
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2013
Aloha ~ So happy you enjoyed your stay. Such a contrast with the adjacent review by people who stayed the night before you! It was a wet beginning to the month - glad you felt so at home and comfortable. And thanks for the report on the composting toilet. And thanks for the tip on the earplugs. Our Hawaii metal roofs can make quite the clatter with rain at night. much aloha and happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaH356
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely unique”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is just not for everyone and it just wasn't for us. Its as close to camping as I will probably ever get these days. The area is very dark at night so bring large flashlights. The walk up to house was difficult in the pouring rain at night. More than once I got turned around and could not see the path and started to get lost (thank goodness for my husband!) Its also very COLD and rainy in Volcano, HI so pack for 40 degree weather. Huge mosquitoes in the house! I felt very cramped with no place to layout except for the uncomfortable bed. I realize that for some people they will love this kind of place with all of its challenges but for me it was not the way I envisioned the start of my honeymoon. The housekeepers and owner seemed very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Volcano Village and being so close to HVP
Liked least: very cold inside the tree house, walking in the dark and climbing up the ladder
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2013
Aloha ~ We do realize the treehouse is not for everyone, and it is sad your experience was so far from what you would have wished. Huge mosquitoes are certainly not the norm - few survive, expecially when the temperatures drop. Any mosquitos that do survive the journey up (usually traveling in cars from Hilo) lose their urge to bite. 40 degree weather is also extremely cold. In all my time personally at volcano, I have never experienced temps below 50. We do strongly suggest arrival in daylight hours. We do not light the forest, but provide headlamps. Once you have experienced the path in daylight, it is not so daunting. We hope the rest of your experience of Hawaii was more to your taste. Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing