We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven on Earth - Volcano Mist Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Mist Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Mist Cottage
Ranked #17 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Avalon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth - Volcano Mist Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

My time at Volcano Mist Cottage was indescribably wonderful. The cottage is truly a healing sanctuary. The grounds are amazingly lush. The attention to detail and fine quality choices in furnishings and linens are lovely. The mist and the privacy of Volcano Mist cottage lends itself to both romance and retreat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kahmemela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Volcano Mist Cottage in February 2010. The cottage is exactly like the photo's on their website. It is just a few minute drive to Volcano's National Park and is an awesome location if you are planning to explore the park for a few days. The backyard hot tub is a welcome amenity when you have spent the day hiking in the park. It was wonderful to wake up to the sound of the song birds in the rain forest and to fall asleep to the song of the crickets... Can't wait until we have another chance to visit and enjoy the serentity of Volcano Mist!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueGuyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed here over Christmas while touring the Volcano and Hilo areas and the cottage is very convenient to the National Park (minutes away). Everything we needed to make our stay comfortable was provided, along with extras. The setting could not be beat for relaxing - VERY PRIVATE, gorgeous landscaping, hot tub and outdoor shower in the rainforest and relaxing outdoor sitting area. We loved coming back after a busy day to our own hot tub and going to sleep at night to the sound of the rain in the trees. We only wish our stay could have been longer and that we could stay in such a wonderful place on every vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The cottage is located in a secluded neighborhood in the Volcano area, just outside the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. While classed as a B&B here, it's a single cottage on its own residential lot. So technically there is no breakfast here, but read on about that.

This cottage is the complete perfect mix of class, comfort, solitude, nature and a feeling of seclusion. The cottage is located in a development (in typical Hawai'ian style of a square grid) where you will find other B&Bs and cottages are located - all within a nice residential area. What makes this one cool is the rain forest surrounds you so well (especially being at the end of the road) that you have a feeling of being on your own. The feeling of privacy is excellent, which will be appreciated when using the spa and outside shower.

The owners have thought of just about everything for your stay - it's outfitted with many things you might have forgotten to bring and may be used during your stay. Breakfast is thoughtfully provided at the beginning of your visit. The bedroom is very comfy and the entire cottage is a delightful mix of coziness and comfort (not too small, not too big).

The town of Volcano is small, but has enough restaurants and supplies for most needs. Of particular note is the excellent food at the Kilauea Lodge and Kiawe Kitchen, both of which are a 5-minute drive.

We were fabulously happy with our stay and definitely will return when coming to this side of the island.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Auburn_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.3 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.6 km away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.0 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Mist Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Mist Cottage

Property: Volcano Mist Cottage
Address: 11-3932 Ninth Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,881 - ₹ 29,951
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Mist Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Kilauea Forest Preserve adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Volcano Mist Cottage offers you the simple understated luxuries of space, tranquility, rest and privacy. Our handcrafted home is designed with extraordinary attention to detail and constructed with great respect for the elemental Spirits present in Hawaii: Earth, Wind, Fire and Water. We offer premiere Volcano Village lodging, artfully fusing the qualities of a 5-Star luxury hotel with the amenities of a vacation home rental, the romantic charm of a small inn or bed-and-breakfast, and the absolute privacy of a personal hideaway in the Hawaiian highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Mist Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing