We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostelling done right”
Review of Holo Holo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holo Holo Inn
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Hostelling done right”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The owner has been a backpacker himself, so he knows what people are looking for in a hostel.

Close to attractions without breaking the bank -check (in this case HVNP)
Clean -check
Use of full kitchen -check
Social and friendly -check (though there weren't many guests when I stayed)

On top of that, internet is free -very nice bonus

There is a fairly long lockout, even for a hostel. But whatever. I didn't come to the Big Island to stay in my room.

I usually stay in a private room, and this one was nice -recently remodeled with wood panelling, making it look more like a rustic B&B than a hostel room. The bed was fine. Spacious ensuite bathroom with towels and soap provided.

Happened to be there on Thanksgiving. I didn't think restaurants would be open, but that's why I bought some food and stayed in a hostel. What I didn't expect, however, was the hostel owners cooking all the guests a major Thanksgiving feast! That was truly above above and beyond the call of duty. Awesome family!

My only issue was that they keep the place COLD! Even the shower was no refuge. The water wasn't so cold that I wanted to get out, but it was lukewarm enough that I didn't want to linger. The second night, however, I asked for a space heater, which was readily provided, and life was really good after that. I would've stayed more time had I known the place was so nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
30
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice hostel run by endearing Japanese family. Cleaner than the usual hostels. The innkeeper's children (under 6 y.o.) were super-cute, however, the cat was kind of annoying. Beware: There are a few quirky rules, but these were easy to abide.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are the deal. Not co-ed however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seafloorscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here for nearly three weeks with a group of 15 students. As an older member of the group, I had a private single room, while the students had shared rooms (4-6 per room). My room was excellent, with a nice ensuite bath, attractive wood paneling, two nightstands, and a small table and chair. This was pretty deluxe compared to other hostels that I have stayed in. Clean towels were provided daily and sheets weekly;soap, shampoo, and a hair dryer were also provided. There is a comfortable lounge area with several sofas, a television, and an assortment of books. The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeepot, rice cookers, and a large assortment of cookware and dishes. With a large group staying there for a relatively long time and keeping to the same schedule, the refrigerator was very crowded and there was congestion in trying to use the stove; under normal conditions, I suspect that this would not be a problem. Also, space for storage of nonrefrigerated food would have been nice. Laundry facilities are available and cost less than the laundromat in town. The owners are friendly and kind, but unobtrusive. Their two young daughters have the run of the place and are fun to be around, as is their friendly cat. I almost felt like family with them, as the little girls would wave to me when I saw them at the weekly farmers' market. Note that, as in many guesthouses and homes in Hawaii, shoes are not worn indoors here. The only caution I would give is that a rooster crows early in the morning every day. If you are traveling on a budget and want to be close to the national park, this is an excellent place to stay. I recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Holo Holo Inn. There weren't many guests the night my friend and I were there. We booked two beds in a dorm room, and there were two other women in our shared room. The shared bathrooms were really nice, and there was a nice quiet lounge room upstairs above the entry way that I loved. The kitchen was big and had a computer for emailing, etc. I had to park in the lot of the building next to the Holo Holo, but it was a ten second walk to the hostel. It just could have used better lighting (or carry a headlamp on you like I did). I would definitely return to the Holo Holo!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My cousin and I booked two nights at the Holo Holo Inn in June 2011. Our main wish was to stay close to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and the Inn certainly WAS close (only a few minute drive). The Website described the Inn as a Hostel/Budget Inn, but we thought it was so much more than that. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the owner and one of his lovely daughters. He gave us a quick tour of the common rooms, explained how everything worked and showed us our room. We payed a $10 deposit to have our own key, but we soon saw that it was not all necessary. The area seems very safe, and all of the guests were families, couples or excited hikers like us! We had a comfortable and convenient private room with private bathroom, and it was much more clean than some B&Bs we stayed at elsewhere on the island..! There are two general stores close by where its possible to buy food, so we were happy to be able to cook a little and take a break from restaurant food (especially since we were disappointed by all of the restaurants we tried in that area). I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibistylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.0 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
2.1 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
834 reviews
1.1 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.4 km away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holo Holo Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holo Holo Inn

Property: Holo Holo Inn
Address: PO Box 784, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0784
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,099
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Holo Holo Hotel Volcano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing