We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lowest price we found
$157
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
65
12
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
12
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house swimming hole secluded waterfall other guests off grid tree frogs the main house the big island common areas shared kitchen living room checking out stayed one night a great place to stay ocean view hammocks noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Hamakua Guest House! We loved the outdoor shower, dining areas, balcony with views of the sun setting over the ocean, and the two unique sleeping accommodations. We stayed one night in the upstairs room and one night in the Camping Cabana.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 620funnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 July 2022 via mobile

Wasn’t expecting that it’s gonna be such a unique place! Atmosphere, location, idea - excellent! If you want to feel real Hawai’i - that’s place to stay! Was kinda difficult to find at the first time, but use Google Maps app, it takes you right there!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 660darial
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 May 2022

We had an amazing stay at this eco conscience guesthouse! If you want all the modern amenities of a high end hotel though, you may not enjoy the closeness of the rainforest and may not appreciate being off the grid. It was great feeling submerged in the rainforest and hearing all the noises of nature at night. I love that they are off the grid and I did not feel it was a sacrifice. They have Wi-Fi! We were there with friends, another couple (all in our 50's & 60's), and stayed in the guesthouse (not the cabana's). Our room was clean, as well as the common areas and the bathrooms. The breeze that came through was great and there are wonderful views . It was great meeting and speaking with other guests and the owners. I will return!

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank TarainMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean, beautiful property, and eco friendly.

Stayed in guest room inside the house, well managed, clean facilities. Two kitchens for use. Staff and owners helpful with questions and suggestions of what to do in the area / on the island.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Navigator17517803532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2022 via mobile

I cannot say enough about staying at these cabanas, and the magic that surrounds them. I've travelled quite a bit throughout the US using hipcamp and air bnb and Mathew's place is worth coming to the big island in of itself. The people were so welcoming, the secluded waterfall was beyond enchanting, and the cabana itself has inspired me to attempt to create something similar back home...although my version will pale in comparison. If you are coming to the big island for any period of time, this is a destination in of itself.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ForestSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews