We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay at Hale Makamae”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Hale Makamae”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at Hale Makamae for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Petra gave us very concise and informative directions on the sights to see, along with a local street directory which meant we did not get lost at all during the day. The grounds of Hale Makamae were beautifully kept with lush green lawns and a bounty of blossoms and colour. Of the nearby attractions, best of all to us was being able to walk to the end of Highway 130 right up to the lava flow of July 2011 - truely amazing. The Lava Ocean Tours Sunset Cruise was also something not to be missed. Petra recommended a number of restaurants in Pahoa. Both nights we took up her recommendations with the added bonus of a discount when showing the Hale Makamae business card. Thanks Petra for helping to make our stay on the Big Island a memorable experience. Maryanne and Fred Smidt, Ballina, NSW, Australia

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    81
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
149
349
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

On March 18, we stayed at the Hale Makamae AGAIN! Note that I said "AGAIN". We first stayed at this great B&B in 2009 in the "Garden Suite" and loved it. For this visit, we stayed in the Lanai Suite, which included the whole upstairs of the B&B. Both suites had everything we could have wanted, but the Lanai Suite was "like home" to us. And when Petra greeted us, it's like we were long-time friends. She's such a great hostess and actually made us feel like we live in Hawaii. The grounds on their property are beautiful too. Like we told Petra, "We'll be back." We'd recommend this place to everybody.

Room Tip: The B&B is in a very quiet setting and we can vouch for two of them being excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great B&B off Hwy 130. At the end of Hwy 130 are the lava fields. We stood on lava only over a year old. Fields are open until 10 and you can see the lava glow at night. We chose this B&B in Pahoa for its proximity to the Volcanoes National Park, only 40 minutes away. After a full day at the park, it was worth not having a far drive. Petra is a great host, breakfast (gotta have the sweet bread french toast) is delicious. The B&B is welcoming with a beautiful garden (bring bug spray if the mosquitoes like you). The garden has so many tropical fruits growing. take some time to sit out and read a while in the garden. Area is safe and quiet. No cell service for a 1/4 mile which really makes you feel like you are on the island and you shouldn't need cell service while on vacation! Again it's a short period where there is no service. There is plenty of data service for checking emails though. We stayed in the Garden Suite, more room than we needed (it was just two of us) wish we had more time there to take advantage of the kitchen. The room had plenty of books to read in case you forgot one or finished one too soon. Each morning, Petra sits down with you to see what you are up to and show you a map of the area and places to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay with Petra and her warm hospitality. The other guests were likewise enjoying their stay and we all commented on the great grounds as well as the convenience of Hale Makamae to other attractions. We particularly liked the short drive to the warm ocean pool and that we could drive there to enjoy the sunrise while soaking in the warm ocean water istening to the surf. Petra answered my questions regarding local points of interest as well as offering information regarding sites that i had not considered. I heartily recommend this B and B.
Doug and Penny

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougD2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend with my sister and her husband at Hale Makamae, (on the "wet" side of the island, which is our favorite location -- convenient to Hilo, Mauna Kea, tide pools). We shared the living room and kitchen of the one-bedroom garden suite with them, while we slept in the studio. I am reviewing them separately.

The garden suite is attractive, clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. A new, large flat-screen TV, complimentary wi-fi, well-equipped kitchen make it suitable for relaxing, staying in touch, entertaining and being entertained. (The wi-fi was critical for us because our AT & T cell phones had no reception here), The gorgeous grounds that show off the lush character of this side of the island, in a very quiet, almost secluded, spot makes Hale Makamae a sweet retreat at the beginning and end of each day. John and Petra are authentic and very helpful. We are familiar with the island, so didn't need much guidance, but we got a couple good tips anyway, including giving their card to two restaurants we like for a 10% discount.

Breakfasts are at 8:30, served buffet-style, and were substantial and delicious: we were served french toast the first morning and scrambled eggs and home-fries the second morning, each time accompanied by coffee or tea, guava juice and a beautiful selection of tropical fruits.

The grounds are lovingly maintained, which made the view from the breakfast table delightful; however, I did not see any seating or obvious invitation to relax out on the grass. Given the number of extremely well-priced vacation rental homes on this side of the island, we found the value here to be just average, but it is very nice to not have to worry about breakfast and clean up, and to have helpful hosts on hand, especially if you are new to the island. We like and have had great luck with both types of accommodations.

Room Tip: I have not seen the two-bedroom lanai suite, but the Garden Suite is a great choice if one bedroom m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenityplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
34.8 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
32.2 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
34.3 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.6 km away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.2 km away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,720 - ₹ 10,981
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Pahoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing