We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deluxe Rainforest Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Deluxe Rainforest Suite
Deluxe Pillow Top King Bed
Rainforest Suite
Sunrise at Welcome to Peace & Tranquility
View from your room
Enjoy your morning coffee on the lanai
Royal Palm Driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Holly P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I highly recommend David G's "Peace and Tranquility". The room was fantastic and the kitchen well-appointed. Super-comfy bed, and the bathroom was amazing.To quote my partner, "We're tearing out our gym room and putting in a bathroom like this". Outstanding views. The recommended restaurant "Kaleo's" was very good. It is a great quiet retreat for a couple. Must be comfortable with friendly, enthusiastic dogs (we were - but they might not be for everybody). The recommended restaurant "Kaleo's" was very good. A note of caution - the property is somewhat remote. The nearest town, Pahoa, doesn't have much to offer and is pretty run-down, but if you're there for volcanoes and relatively close snorkeling, its a GREAT place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful!! Lovely accomodations.
Liked least: Long grass driveway somewhat problematic for low-clearance rental vehicles.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and host!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

David's rental could not be a more perfect place to stay on the Big island. Secluded, but not too far from conveniences, the home is spacious and well appointed with panoramic views of both the jungle and the ocean. The property is located near great snorkeling opportunities, and David is knowledgeable and generous with information and directions for any other islands activities you might be interested in. We were very comfortable with both our private time and the interactions we had with our host.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
angiwilli
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sunrise we've ever seen from bed!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the rain forest suite for 4 nights, woke up to excellent sunrise views right from our bed. It's off the beaten path yet still not too far to explore Hilo, Puna, caves & Volcanoes. We REALLY enjoyed the seclusion that this property offers, extremely spacious bedroom & bathroom, tastefully furnished & modern/open feel, and coffee with David, the owner, in the mornings. Another bonus was the playful full-size puppies that greeted us every morning & were excellent personal guard dogs. Excellent & pristine snorkeling nearby - just ask David for directions. Perfect skies for stargazing w/ amazing views of the milky way (when the skies are clear). The town of Pahoa has AWESOME food - Pele's Kitchen & Ning's Thai were our favorites. Will definitely be back & recommend to everyone we know!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunrise from bed, David's hospitality, away from the crowds, awesome food closeby
Liked least: Coqui frog chorus at night... until we adjusted. Can't complain too much about nature sounds ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 125
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing