We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surprising value for such a great place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hale Lezarde: Tranquility in a tropical rainforest setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Lezarde: Tranquility in a tropical rainforest setting
Hale Lezarde Living Room with Garry Palm tropical prints and Electric Fireplace Hale Lezarde Dining Area with Garden view and 'Pele Corner' with Volcano Art
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Hale Lezarde: Tranquility in a tropical rainforest setting
Hale Lezarde Living Room with Garry Palm tropical prints and Electric Fireplace
Hale Lezarde Dining Area with Garden view and 'Pele Corner' with Volcano Art
Wireless internet, cable TV and DVD player
Hale Lezarde Kitchen and Bar Area
New Stove installed July 2014
It's always 5 O'Clock at Hale Lezarde! The Tiki Bar is Open!
Hale Lezarde Large Screened Lanai with Dining and Sitting Areas
Hale Lezarde Lanai Sitting Area. Perfect for morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail.
How about a relaxing massage on the lanai? A massage table is provided. Bring your own oil!
Hale Lezarde Master Suite with King Bed
Master Suite looking toward the Master Bath
i-phone dock in Master Suite
Hale Lezarde Master Suite Closet
Hale Lezarde Master Bath Vanity
Hale Lezarde Jetted Tub in Master Bath
Hale Lezarde Second Bedroom with Queen Bed
Tommy Bahama Dresser in Second Bedroom
Hale Lezarde Second Bath Vanity
Hale Lezarde Second Bathroom with Tub and Shower Combination
Hale Lezarde Ohana (Separate Guest House)
Hale Lezarde Ohana Twin over Double Bunk Bed
Hale Lezarde Ohana Full Size Futon and Chalkboard Coffee Table (chalk is provided!)
Ohana Internet TV and DVD Player
Hale Lezarde Ohana Kitchenette with microwave, toaster, coffee maker and fridge
Hale Lezarde Ohana Bath Vanity
Hale Lezarde Ohana Bath Walk in Shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glinda491...
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising value for such a great place!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I had to really decide if I wanted to post a great review of this place because I would love to keep it our own secret...but that hardly seems fair; so here goes..... :)
A group of us stayed at Hale Lezarde for 10 days in October and had an awesome time! The place was super clean and comfortable. It seems like the owners have thought of everything to make your stay the best it can be. The tour book, the suggestions for places to go and things to do were all appreciated by all of us. We also liked the fact that there was a separate, private area that those of us who wanted to stay up late and visit could do just that. The beds and linens were clean and new, as were all the dishes and kitchen supplies. I can't tell you how great it was to find a place that was affordable and perfect all rolled into one. We had a blast spending the money we saved!! We will be back next year, if not sooner.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your next visit to the beautiful Big Island of Hawai'i and we would love to have you as our guest at Hale Lezarde in the future. A hui hou! Mark and Sandy, Lezarde Travel LLC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack A
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Rental and Value”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hale Lezarde is a beautiful, comfortable and relaxing place to stay on the Big Island. The rainforest landscaping is amazing, with fruit trees right out the front door. We enjoyed the last of the avocados and mangoes during our stay. I could see citrus as well, and it's likely the guests after us found bananas ready to go. The travelers palms are amazing, towering higher than the house.

The interior was clean and comfortable - we loved taking our breakfast on the lanai, watching the birds and geckos visit outside. We didn't experience any issues during our stay, and our deposit was returned promptly afterwards. The beds were very comfortable and in fact seemed to be brand new.

We had so many great things to do every day - the hot ponds were close, the snorkeling at Kapoho was amazing, and the view of the volcano from the visitor center at the national park just after sunset was amazing. We also has a chance to attend the night market and it was unlike anything we'd every seen before.

Hale Lezarde is definitely a place to get away from it all - to leave behind the cares of the world - maybe even to fall in love again. I love Hawaii, my girlfriend even more so - I didn't think I would ever get her to leave (and she almost didn't). We should have checked the box on the tourist form that said "honeymoon" as the purpose of our trip.

If you want to be on a busy beach, close to the nightlife, this is not your place. But if you want to know the soul of Hawaii, it lives in lower Puna, and I can't imagine a better place to share that than Hale Lezarde.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big comfortable master bed
Liked least: No hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
Aloha Jack! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hale Lezarde on the beautiful Big Island of Hawai'i. We look forward to having you as our guest whenever you get back to the Big Island. Mark and Sandy Lezarde Travel, LLC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay her”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this house for 7 nights in July. It is in a fairly secluded location and is not within walking distance of any services, such as a local community pool. When we arrived, there was NO phone, internet and limited cable TV service. We contacted the concierge the same day, but we went without these services for 5 days. We were offered $25 by the owners as compensation for using our emergency cell phone. This money did not cover the costs (about $125) we incurred to sort out the problem with the concierge and phone technicians on the owners' behalf, let alone the inconvenience we had dealing with the problem for most of our. So much for the "free long distance calling" that was advertised in their property description. When we asked for compensation of our phone bill, the owners accused us of "not being resourceful;" and their solution was to drive 10 minutes into the local town to use the library internet and phone services, or pay for computer services in a nearby town. In addition, we would not recommend staying here during the summer months as the property has no air conditioning and the ceiling fans were unable to compensate for the heat and humidity. Keeping windows open at night was not an option as nuisance croaking frogs kept us awake. Owners were difficult to deal with and placated and patronized us when a problem occurred. Choose another place to stay for your vacation.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 100
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing