We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hideaway spot for two”
other travellers have booked this property
South Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Entrance
Gecko Guardian Kitchen for serious cooks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
South Entrance
Gecko Guardian
Kitchen for serious cooks
Queen Bed
Bathroom sink
Toilet paper + porcelain accessory
Shower with a view (room for 2)
Buddha from S.E. Asia
Read, relax,  or enjoy the view
South lawn and red, circular drive
East Entrance--Chaise lounges for SeaView
Koi Pond near Lanai
South east corner
Gated entrance (pohoiki road)
02 North with Ocean View
Lanai Sleep Porch---Queen AeroBed
15 House at Sunrise
Mahi Oli\'Oli Starry night
Waimanu Valley Waterfall---hiking destination
Geothermal Oceanside Pond, aka 'The Warm Pond' or AhalaNui State Park
Maku'u FARMHERS' MARKET
Entrance to Mahi Oli'Oli' seen from Pohoiki Road
StarDeck on a rainy afternoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MMcIver
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hideaway spot for two”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Owners description and previous reviews very accurate. Beautiful little self-contained guesthouse, very clean, beautifully kept tropical gardens. Very unique find! Great location if you're looking to escape a little - easy drive to town / ocean, convenient to explore volcano national park from. This isn't typical postcard-white-sand-hawaii - this is for quiet, lush green, dramatic black cliff coastline, more remote / natural getaway. Loved it and highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coast_to...
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Amazing, private, bright, large cottage on gorgeous grounds”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Where do I start with this review: the beautifully designed cottage, the amazing view or the gorgeous gardens?
We loved being able to have so much space around the cottage to ourselves. It was our first time staying "off the grid" and there was absolutely no problem with the system. Bob and Andy's love and care in the cottage construction, decor and the gardens is so evident. We had a most relaxing stay. Although we did go out and explore that part of the island each day, it was lovely to come "home" to Mahi Oli' Oli'. Every small detail was thought of and provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large, well landscaped, private grounds.
Liked least: Only staying three nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ak
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tmatherly
Weatherford, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location. Never intruded on. As if we had landed on our own lush, well-appointed island. I made fresh limeade with limes from the orchard while listening to Bob Marley. The weather was always below 85 degrees and we slept so comfortably at night with the sounds of the coqui frogs and the breeze coming through the screen doors. A relaxing place to regroup after a 5 mile volcano hike. Andy and Bob have created a utopia. Their detailed instructions that were mailed ahead of our arrival date covered every question we had. Our deposit was returned before we arrived home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer. Two days was not enough time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsBaldwi...
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Beautiful property which was wonderful to come back to after exploring the Island. It was so peaceful with a wonderful breeze. Bob and Andy made accomadations for our 2 teenage children even though it is advertised as a studio for two. All our needs were met. We were very happy we chose this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefulness, view, away from other people
Liked least: sound of the frogs or coqui the first night but then got used to it
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing