We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute and private”
other travellers have booked this property
Front entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front entry
Bedroom
bedroom closet
master bath
Washer & Dryer
Plumeria flowers
Gekos
1/2 bath off living room
skylight
Honu's ( sea turtles) resting
The night sky ( picture does not do it justice )
sunset
sunset
rainbow
The green sand beach
Rainbow falls ( Hilo )
Ocean view from lanai
Living room from kitchen
Honu resting on the Black sand beach
Black sand beach
Lanai Chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ann K L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cute and private”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Poem we wrote for our guest book the morning of our departure.
Ode to Hale Iki Lani
~~~~---//---~~~~
Across a sea of troubles, taken,
To a lunar-landscaped home.
Secluded, breezy cool and cozy;
Above the unseen gecko roams.
Below, a thousand-year-old cavern:
Kula Kai, of times gone by.
At night, the stars through moon-shaped window
Pierce Pele's cloud-soaked sky.
Sometimes yellow birds ascend there
Always paired with one another,
Firmly centered to this land here;
Makai father, Pele mother.
16-23 January, 2016
25th anniversary
Ann & Stephen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
We love your poem, thank you for putting in on our guest book, and sharing it here as well. I will keep it forever, thanks again for staying with us, we are so glad you choose to celebrate your special anniversary here on the big island!
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDCTSC
Dexter, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on the Big Island”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a great place to stay while we visited the Big Island. This was one of the best places we have ever stayed. It was very comfortable and very private. So very quite. The house was the best provisioned place we have ever stayed. It had everything we needed and more.

I was concerned when i figured out that it didn't have air conditioning but there was no need to worry. With the windows and doors open it was very comfortable.

The location is pretty handy to things on the Big Island. It is very close to the Green Sand Beach and the Black Sand Beach. Just a short drive to Volcano National Park. And only about 2 hours over to Hilo and some beautiful waterfalls. It is only a few blocks from Kula Kai Caverns which is a fantastic thing to do. You get to go into Lava Tubes and tour them.

For a couple this place can't be beat. If I ever go back to the Big Island I am sure we will try to stay at this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very well provisioned
Liked least: The mattress was way to soft for us and the sheet kept coming off.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Apologies for not responding sooner, just found this option on the site.
Thank you so very much, what beautiful review of our home, is so wonderful to know that what we share is appreciated and that not only the fact that our guests have a great vacation, but we love hearing about it as well. Come back and see us again if you do get the chance, we will try our best to make your next stay even better than the first!
Mahalo,
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy H
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little house, sitting in a lava field landscaped with beautiful plants is a charming, cozy, comfortable, well-appointed, and attractive retreat in the little town of Ocean View. Everything we needed was provided, including a lovely guest basket of candies, coffee, and other drinks. There were plenty of clean kitchen, bath and beach towels. Soaps, lotions, shampoo and conditioner were provided as well. The kitchen was stocked with great dishes, glassware, pots, and pans, utensils, you name it. All the appliances, including a washer and dryer, were in good condition and worked very well. The house was very clean, and had a marvelous Hawaiian feel to it. At night, be sure to step outside to view the Milky Way. If it's clear, you'll see amazing stars. And you can also see the stars through the circular skylight from the bedroom.

The little town of Ocean View is very low key and very casual. There isn't too much going on there, but there is a really good coffee place for breakfast and lunch just up the road. I believe it's called The Grind. There are three markets, two pizza places, and a modest farmer's market on Saturdays. There are hiking trails close by, and the Black Sand Beach just south on 11 is a great place for snorkeling. Kona is about 80 minutes to the north, Volcanos National Park is about 60 minutes to the south, and Hilo is a ways further than that. Captain Cook, about an hour north on 11 is worth a visit too. If you're into hiking, take the trail from Captain Cook to the monument. It's fantastic.

Lisa and Don were truly wonderful hosts, and we enjoyed and appreciated their little piece of paradise very much. In fact, we're hoping to go back for another stay next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the feel of the place. It was so comfy and nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
My apologies for not responding sooner, I didn't know this option was available. Just wanted to say thank you very much for staying with us, we really appreciate it and your wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know and of course please come stay iwith us again!
Mahalo,
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherof1
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Away from the crowds & traffic in Kona, serene with ocean view. Gated community. Yurt-style, with exposed roof beams and wonderful skylight. No AC needed in cool elevation; not humid. Recently remodeled. Comfortable bed. Wifi and Dish TV. Rainwater catchment. Lavascape yard with interesting plants. Wonderful night skies-- can see the Milky Way. Owner has provided almost everything you could need and is helpful. Grocery store and gasoline 3 minutes away. Only 20 minutes to black sand beach, 40 minutes to volcano. We stayed there for 10 days and loved it. Terrific value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful area and night skies.
Liked least: The drive to Kailua-Kona.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review of our unique corner of the beautiful big island, we love the the style of the home and are so glad you enjoyed it as well. The quiet and the stars are the best part, hope to have you back again !
Mahalo,
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela W
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: ruhige Lage
Liked least: Schlüsselübergabe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
It's so wonderful to know that guests from all over the world can come stay at our little corner of paradise! I appreciate it very much, I just really wish I could read this review. I do hope it's helpful to all others as I'm in search of an app that can translate! Lol
Thanks again,
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing