We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of hawaiian journeys

studio at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
studio at dusk
kitchen area bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
studio at dusk
kitchen area
bedroom
living area 2bedroom
studio yurt
view of studio from 2 br yurt
plume from volcano
view of south point from property
bathroom
side view of 1 bedroom yurt
view from 1 br yurt to the other yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 054
view of hilo bay from tidepools
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 058
one and two bedroom yurts
sunrise over yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 081.jpgview of property from street
studio kitchen area
studio bed
studio
studio
property at dusk
living area 1 bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Aloha, the worst winds in February shifted our equipment and finally got the technician to come out but we will be going up to 1 gig in a few weeks when I switch service. It has taken nearly 4 months to finally get high speed internet. Please do come again, maybe I'll have more free time. Thanks for staying. Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordo15
Riggins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful unique lodging in a gorgeous setting.”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This well appointed yurt was set in a very beautiful area where we could see the sunset over the ocean. It was convenient to exploring the southern part of the island and Volcano National Park. Very quiet and peaceful. The only thing that would have improved the stay is better internet connections and a cooking surface. Nice refrigerator, coffee maker, utensils and dishes but only a microwave for cooking. We would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
1 review
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The yurts we're fantastically cozy and very well accommodated. My brother and I rented 2 and stayed for 4 days. The beds were incredible and you have everything there short of a full stove. I would happily return if I go back to hawaii

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis M
Oxford, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoyable stay, only a couple of tiny issues.”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time staying in a yurt and it turned out to be very pleasant. Ocean View was a nice quiet location. The owner was very kind and easy to talk to. The only small issues were the wind (no control over it), lack of a fan for when the inside of the yurt got very warm in the afternoon, no stove or oven (may have not been feasible to put in), and the wi-if reception was spotty. None of those issues really were major, though and can be tweaked a little. The views were great despite the vog from Kilauea. I would stay here again if I came back to Hawaii. It was easy to find as well. I would recommend this place to friends. The yurt was cozy and homey. I lucked out on being able to rent this place for my vacation and had a wonderful stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawduke
Duluth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unusual, unique, strange,and we'll stay again if we get the chance”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I'll start with the basics: clean, quiet, reasonably priced. Close to south side attractions.
Lisa is nice to deal with,helpful and friendly.
I don't think that anyone who's been to Ocean View would deny that it's an unusual place. Awesome views of the Pacific.
The yurt was comfortable. It was too chilly to open the plastic windows,so the view from inside wasn't much.
Clear and quiet at night led to some good star gazing, even through the skylight.
The incinerating toilet took a little getting used to,but it was far more comfortable and convenient than most campground facilities.
Close to a Thai restaurant, and a bar and grill, both worth a stop. Good food and friendly service.
This isn't a five star resort,but it is better than a five star campground.
And again, my best criteria for lodging: clean, quiet and reasonably priced

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing