We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Found this great hideaway run by Mary and Pat. So peaceful and quiet - and we didn't even mind the coqui frogs! Great ocean views, fantastic breakfasts (banana stuffed french toast with homemade guava syrup!), and a wonderful rooms. It was a great spot to just hang out also. Didn't get a chance to try the pool or hammock, but wished we could have stayed longer so we could have! A wonderful value too!

Room Tip: Aloha room shares a bath with another room. No one was in it when we stayed though so we had a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedgar703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We rented the cottage with another couple and it had tons of space, was clean, quiet, and fully stocked. Homemade locally-grown breakfast overlooking the ocean, hammock on the deck, tranquil location - hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A123L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We were there for 5 days, and wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Mary and Pat for your wholesome, fantastic breakfasts and the most comfortable bed we have ever had away from home. We loved our stay.
Donna and Terry

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Sisters Mary and Pat operate this wonderful B&B and both are warm and friendly ladies. Our visit was like staying with "family". We stayed in the "Aloha room" in the main house and had a lovely room with private bath and private entrance to the lanai. Breakfast is served on the lanai and was always fantastic. We'll miss the "fresh" island fruit everyday! We visited in February and were fortunate to have views of whales frolicking in the ocean while eating breakfast on the lanai. We also met many nice people staying there and enjoyed visiting with them. The ladies are very knowledgeable and gave us many "local" tips about the island. Ali Kai is a very relaxing place to stay. We would highly recommend Ali Kai and plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Pat and Mary have been most gracious hosts. Our stay, while seeing most of the Big Island, often included long hours and it was always a welcome "home" on our return. Located across the street from the ocean, the lenai offers a view of whales and sea turtles as well as the meeting place for guests to share adventures over breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP89696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
19.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
16.3 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
17.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
23 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
21.4 km away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range: ₹ 9,833 - ₹ 12,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing