We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We rented the cottage with another couple and it had tons of space, was clean, quiet, and fully stocked. Homemade locally-grown breakfast overlooking the ocean, hammock on the deck, tranquil location - hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A123L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We were there for 5 days, and wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Mary and Pat for your wholesome, fantastic breakfasts and the most comfortable bed we have ever had away from home. We loved our stay.
Donna and Terry

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Sisters Mary and Pat operate this wonderful B&B and both are warm and friendly ladies. Our visit was like staying with "family". We stayed in the "Aloha room" in the main house and had a lovely room with private bath and private entrance to the lanai. Breakfast is served on the lanai and was always fantastic. We'll miss the "fresh" island fruit everyday! We visited in February and were fortunate to have views of whales frolicking in the ocean while eating breakfast on the lanai. We also met many nice people staying there and enjoyed visiting with them. The ladies are very knowledgeable and gave us many "local" tips about the island. Ali Kai is a very relaxing place to stay. We would highly recommend Ali Kai and plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Pat and Mary have been most gracious hosts. Our stay, while seeing most of the Big Island, often included long hours and it was always a welcome "home" on our return. Located across the street from the ocean, the lenai offers a view of whales and sea turtles as well as the meeting place for guests to share adventures over breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP89696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My friend and I spent a week here and couldn't have been more satisfied with the the cottage we stayed in which had all the comforts of home, including a nice size TV screen where we could watch the Australian Open after a great day of hiking. The beds were very comfortable and the cottage was exceptionally clean The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and were eaten on the Lanai overlooking the ocean where we even saw whales one morning. The owners, Pat and Mary, were delightful and very friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to see and places to eat out. A very peaceful and pleasant place to stay with the added bonus of being able to just cross the road and watch the sun rise over the ocean and listen and see the waves pounding over the rocks..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
17.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
17.0 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
19.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
36.0 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
23.0 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,695 - ₹ 12,357
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing