We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hated to Leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art and Orchids

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keaau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art and Orchids
Ranked #3 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Schomberg, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hated to Leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a wonderful stay we had at Art and Orchids. The setting is incredible, and the accommodation superb.

Our room so so comfortable, well maintained and spotless. Our hosts, Markie and Jerry were friendly and extremely knowledgeable.

The location provides great access to the volcano, other attractions and great restaurants. We truly hated to leave this wonderful place, and would recommend it in an instant..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Art and Orchid provides the ideal tropical location away from the commercialized Hawai'i. My husband and I stayed at the beginning of February 2012 and ran out of time to do everything we wanted. Markie and Jerry are great hosts. Besides providing extensive knowledge and information on the island and area (two guide books and a Puna-area tour Markie wrote herself are in every room), the hosts provide snorkeling gear, beach towels, and sunscreen for guests to borrow during their stay. We stayed in the largest room downstairs and loved having the space, as well as the beautiful furniture. The bed was a little firmer than we typically like but we wore ourselves out every day so we slept well despite it.

The Art and Orchid has so much character thanks to Markie's mosaics, and guests can fall asleep and wake up to the sounds of nature. Markie and Jerry gave excellent directions. Guests are an enjoyable drive to anything they may want to see. My husband and I explored Puna, the Volcano Park, Mauna Kea, and waterfalls around Hilo. If we had spent more time in Hawai'i, we would have ventured to the western side of the island. However, we were perfectly content on the eastern, tropical side.

If you want a resort feel, stay somewhere else. If you want to truly get to know Hawai'i and the culture and lifestyle, stay at Art and Orchid. We wanted a unique, non-tourist-y experience and that was exactly what we got.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Art and Orchids for two nights to visit the Puna area and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. To begin, the location was perfect. Volcanoes National Park was only about a 35 minute drive away, very easy. And Markie and Jerry are so friendly and helpful! Immediately upon arrival, Markie gave us information and advice on a tour of the Puna area, and suggested a fantastic place for dinner.

The room was large and comfortable, and we felt the location was very peaceful. You really feel that you are tucked away from everything. And the breakfasts were fantastic. The eggs were delicious (my husband still talks about them) and I'm still craving Markie's avocado bread! And we loved trying all the exotic fruit from their garden.

We didn't have any difficulty finding the place, but we followed the written directions exactly (and ignored our Garmin). After our arrival, we knew exactly how to come and go, and never had any problems.

My only regret was that we didn't have more time to stay in this area. It had much more to offer and explore than we could cover in our brief stay. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalia291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We chose this B&B for a four day visit to see the volcano, Hilo and Puna coast and were very pleased to find the location so central to everything. It is important to follow Markie's directions however, because it is in a rural area, off the beaten path. Every day begins with a delicious breakfast including an egg dish, bacon or sausage, fresh baked breads and fruits from the gardens surrounding the two storey house. These lush gardens, a pool and hot tub are yours to enjoy between trips to daily destinations to which your hosts (and fellow guests) will happily guide you. We found the Volcano Art Gallery to be well worth our time after Markie suggested we add it to the agenda, and the local markets are not to be missed for souvenirs, produce and Aloha. We would not hesitate to return to Art and Orchids for our next vacation on the Big Island.

Room Tip: The large Rainbow Room (upstairs) has a great walk-in closet, balcony and bathroom and adjoins the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

this was the most comfortable B&B we have ever stayed in. Though we had the
"smallest" room it had ample space and a wall long closet . Loved the mosaics Markie made for the bathroom. We felt very well cared for. Markie's breakfasts were great and we enjoyed fruits new to us from her tropical orchard;and her fresh made breads were delicious. We also appreciated being able to use the kitchen(in the guest area) and made two dinners for ourselves which we ate on the screened in porch in romantic tropical style. Both Markie and Jerry were great hosts and helpful in suggesting places to visit and answering questions. We stayed five days and would have liked to have stayed longer. Location challenging to find at first but well worth the effort! Mahalo ! and Happy New Year Markie and Jerry

Room Tip: the orchid room is the smallest, but ample for two . It also felt very private,as there is a small h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
19.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
25.9 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
19.0 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.6 km away
Keaau Place
Keaau Place
#1 of 8 in Keaau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
15.3 km away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art and Orchids? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art and Orchids

Property: Art and Orchids
Address: 16-1504 39th Ave, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,507 - ₹ 9,554
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven for artists and those who love tropical gardens. Luxury at an affordable price. Wake to the sound of rainforest birds in our spacious home on the Big Island of Hawaii, 15 miles from Hilo. All rooms with private baths, one with jacuzzi. Decorated with high quality art. Relax in our hot tub. Breakfast includes macadamia nut granola, eggs, ham, local tropical fruit, sweet and whole-grain bread, Hawaiian honey and jam, tea, and local coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing