We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art and Orchids
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
100
13
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
13
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We chose this B&B for a four day visit to see the volcano, Hilo and Puna coast and were very pleased to find the location so central to everything. It is important to follow Markie's directions however, because it is in a rural area, off the beaten path. Every day begins with a delicious breakfast including an egg dish, bacon or sausage, fresh baked breads and fruits from the gardens surrounding the two storey house. These lush gardens, a pool and hot tub are yours to enjoy between trips to daily destinations to which your hosts (and fellow guests) will happily guide you. We found the Volcano Art Gallery to be well worth our time after Markie suggested we add it to the agenda, and the local markets are not to be missed for souvenirs, produce and Aloha. We would not hesitate to return to Art and Orchids for our next vacation on the Big Island.

Room Tip: The large Rainbow Room (upstairs) has a great walk-in closet, balcony and bathroom and adjoins the equally spacious common areas which we enjoyed in the evenings.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

this was the most comfortable B&B we have ever stayed in. Though we had the
"smallest" room it had ample space and a wall long closet . Loved the mosaics Markie made for the bathroom. We felt very well cared for. Markie's breakfasts were great and we enjoyed fruits new to us from her tropical orchard;and her fresh made breads were delicious. We also appreciated being able to use the kitchen(in the guest area) and made two dinners for ourselves which we ate on the screened in porch in romantic tropical style. Both Markie and Jerry were great hosts and helpful in suggesting places to visit and answering questions. We stayed five days and would have liked to have stayed longer. Location challenging to find at first but well worth the effort! Mahalo ! and Happy New Year Markie and Jerry

Room Tip: the orchid room is the smallest, but ample for two . It also felt very private,as there is a small hallway and you are two doors away from the common rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had a Sublime Time during our time at Art and Orchids. Our hosts, Marklyn and Jerry, provided remarkable hospitality throughout our 4 day stay. Our room was tastefully appointed with genuine South Pacific furniture and artworks, and decorated with stunning, fresh picked tropical floral arrangements.We were provided with a 2 page directory (produced by our hosts) of their favorite local sites and attractions, which provided us with many hours of touring enjoyment. The property is lush with tropical fruit trees and flowering plants, and guests are encouraged to pick and enjoy the ripe fruit, including Avocado, Starfruit, Passion fruit. Guava, Papaya, Lemons, and Oranges. The taste of the fresh-picked fruit is enough to inspire one to throw away their shoes and stay on the Big Island forever. (Did I mention that breakfast is served with fresh picked fruit ...) The drive into Art and Orchids is little surprising the first time, but the stay is remarkable. Anna & Paul from Maryland

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Art and Orchids is a gem, and we could not have been happier with our stay there. Though the drive in is a bit disconcerting, don't give up...your treasure awaits behind the mosaic covered columns at the end of the road. This place is clean, charming, and comfortable. We stayed in the Rainbow Room, which has a comfy bed and a little balcony overlooking the hot tub and koi pond. The room is large and has a HUGE closet and adorable bathroom with mosaic tile floor done by our hostess, Markie. Buffet-style breakfasts consisted of fresh egg dishes (with eggs from their chickens), breads, and wonderful fruit. Markie and Jerry posess a wealth of knowledge and information about the area and are happy to share it. The property is convenient to Hilo and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
A winner all around and I would recommend it to anyone wanting an off-the-beaten-path oasis.

Room Tip: They're all good :)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Absolutely loved this B&B located in what's basically the middle of nowhere. Markie & Jerry and their dogs and cats are all super friendly, with tons of tips about nearby attractions. We stayed in the garden room which is downstairs, our first visit to the Big Island. The room is way bigger than you need for 2 people - excellent for a family. The fresh fruit, granola, and egg breakfast was a welcome sight to me, I find most 'usual' breakfasts way too heavy.

My only warning, which isn't A&O's fault at all, is there isn't a ton of space to maneuver our disastrously slow rental car, a Chevy Malibu. There isn't a real parking lot and 3 point turns in that nightmare of a car are near impossible, especially with other guests present. Just plan ahead and you should be fine.

Check out the stars at night from the hot tub. Awesome.

Room Tip: Garden room can easily sleep a family
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews