We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jacaranda Inn(Waimea)(Great Value!)
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$ 687
US$ 601
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 453
US$ 359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 373
US$ 306
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 370
US$ 329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 383
US$ 331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 623
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
8
13
23
30
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
13
23
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslate arrivalcharming placesmall towncentral locationdefinitely stay here againthe big islandcoast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Wasn't expecting much as I didn't pay much. Good for a quick night stop after a late flight into Kona and heading to Hilo the next day. Only real complaint I have that can be easily fixed...either bleach or throw out the shower curtain...how can you NOT see the mold growing on the bottom of it?!?!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank butterman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Very comfortable dwelling and Close to everything in the area: gasoline, restaurants, shopping and banking, etc. The hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful and easy to talk to. The museum was just down the road and the weekend farmers' market venders was just behind this lodge.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Dorcas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taisha A, Director of Operations at Waimea Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Aloha Dorcas F,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Waimea Country Lodge. We are grateful for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor, but most pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It's always nice to hear that our hotel is located in a good location along with having a pleasant team working at the hotel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Want somewhere dirty and in such a bad state that it feels like the building might fall apart around you? This is it!! Mould, dirty carpets, the bathroom is do grotty... if we hadn't already paid, there's no way we would have stayed here

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Barbje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taisha A, Director of Operations at Waimea Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Aloha Barbje,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Waimea Country Lodge. Your patronage to our hotel is greatly appreciated. I'm very sorry for all that you endured and am disappointed that we failed to make your visit a pleasant one. We are committed to taking necessary steps in improving our guest services and of our aging product. I hope we will have an opportunity to regain your valued patronage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I read the reviews, I thought people were exaggerating.

The room just hits you with that cheap hotel smell upon arrival. The sheets were dirty, to be on the safe side I slept on top of them with my clothes on. I can't even describe the carpet, seems like a murder took place here. The mattresses haven't been changed in decades.

It is extremely noisy, with chickens just outside the paper-thin windows. The curtains are also too thin, light comes in very early. There is only one light for the whole bedroom (plus the entrance light).

It seems like right out of a Hitchcock movie.

On the bright side it is well located and there is fast and free internet.

The price is very steep for what is offered, look elsewhere. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank accrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taisha A, Director of Operations at Waimea Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Aloha accrama,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for your unpleasant experience at the Waimea Country Lodge. I'm embarrassed to hear that your stay was less than favorable and understand your frustration. We appreciate every comment from our guests, as both positive and negative comments will be used to help us enhance our facilities and guest services. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We needed a place closer to Kona Coast than Hilo (3 hour drive) for very early water activities on one morning, and a very early flight out of Kona another morning. Waimea is only 3/4 hour drive from Kona, and the Country Lodge was only motel in town. The shorter drive made it a reasonable pick At first look, the place was "tired" but seemed fine. Price a bit steep but given Hawaii prices not out of line--and there was a restaurant right on the property. We made both reservations, being charged $111 for each. But when we arrived to stay our first night we discovered this place was in great need of refurbishing. Hard to tell if floors, walls, bathroom were dirty or just in very poor condition. An empty liter Coke container was under the desk. No phone, no clock, no alarm. Front desk said people steal things so nothing is provided. (Yet, we were charged a $100 "security hold" on the key.) Also, no wake-up call service. So we bought an alarm clock for the night--which was a waste of money since chickens running wild started crowing before dawn! The place was noisy until late at night, so little sleep. Bed comfort was reasonable, although we worried about cleanliness and bedbug potential. Restaurant was terrible, one person doing everything and food taste was poor. We cancelled reservation for the second night before flying home from Kona, and found great hotel for almost same price at heart of Kona tourist area only 7 miles from airport. In 50 years of travel, this experience rates in the bottom 10 worst lodging experiences. We rate Waimea Country Lodge a half star--at best! (NOTE: To be fair, we did get the $100 "security hold" removed upon checking out, and we were immediately refunded the $111 advance charge on the second reservation. The staff was friendly and helpful, but that hardly offset the multiple negatives.)

Room Tip: If our room is typical, there are NO good rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Waimea Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Aloha Ken,
I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Waimea Country Lodge. Thank you very much for your comments as we openly welcome all constructive criticism as it will help us to improve. Clearly we weren't performing up to our standards and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure that this does not happen again. We are currently in the process of updating and renovating our property and hope that you will give us another chance in the near future to host your stay.

Mahalo,

Jenna Cummings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews