We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Honokaa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October for our honeymoon. What an incredible place! First off, I loved driving up the rough winding road up to the B+B (although my wife was a little nervous). Driving here from Kona, the scenery is absolutely incredible. When you finally get there, you really feel like you've arrived somewhere special. There's plenty to do in the area and it's not too far from Waimea, which has some really great resaurants. The B+B itself is beautifully decorated and we really enjoyed drinking wine out in the living room and soaking in the bathtub at night. My wife found the breakfasts a little heavy but I really enjoyed them. This is a place we definitely would love to go back to. There's something special, not only about this B+B, but the whole Honokaa area that makes staying here an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
146
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our stay at Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast this Thanksgiving holiday was absolutely wonderful. Everyone there made our stay a most memorable and delightful one. From the delicious breakfasts to our special ordered Thanksgiving dinner by Chef Peter and the wine and appetizer hour for the guests that allow all to meet and intermingle was outstanding. The location and house lends itself in a beautiful and restful area above Honokaa. The house has an open and airy feeling with lots of skylights and windows to view the beautiful grounds and occasional wildlife. WE recommend the Malamalama room which has the best views in the house and is a jr. suite with a large soaking tub. Most outstanding though are the people that work there to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as one could imagine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We had a fabulous stay last week. The location is wonderful, the service impeccable and the food truly amazing. If you are looking for a true oasis in a magnificent setting this is for you. Be sure to have dinner there - it's incredible - Sonya and Chef Peter are a terrific team.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWS-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I couldn't have found a better place to begin our 10th anniversary trip than Waianuhea. Gorgeous location in the hills above Honokaa, a beautiful house with tastefully furnished and decorated spaces, powered by the sun. Skylights and windows everywhere bring in natural light without compromising privacy. Our room had skylights for stargazing, fireplace, a little private balcony, and a double-sized bathtub in our private bath. The staff will pamper you as much as you will let them. The atmosphere is very warm, casual, and luxurious. Book for a gourmet dinner prepared by Chef Peter at least a day in advance, or just enjoy the gourmet appetizers with a very nice glass of wine or two...when Sonja brought at a 2009 Bordeaux with the pupus, I knew I was in the right place! What we will remember most are the little personal touches, given in the sincere spirit of making the guests feel welcome. After 3 nights, I was very hard to leave. Treat yourself to this B&B, and you will learn the meaning of Aloha.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azzinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

These days, so many of us go online when travelling to a destination unknown to us, with no recommendations from friends, to find a suitable place to stay. You look at websites, see the pictures, read the descriptions, make reservations and then pray that it all works out.
This is what we found at Waianuhea on the Big island (after the long and winding narrow road to get there) Imagine a spot where your only neighbors are cows and wild turkeys and your view is of the ocean or Mauna Kea. Add to that the coziness of an open fire on a cool evening (we were there in November) while enjoying a glass of wine with a small number of guests and a staff that is knowledgeable, interesting and entertaining. Imagine a carefully prepared dinner made with local ingredients that is so good you will want to cancel any other dinner reservations. Combine that with a creative and carefully prepared breakfast, different each morning. And we mustn’t forget the other part of the setting – the architecture, the rooms, bathrooms and furnishings – all beautifully executed, tasteful, and comfortable. Completely relaxing after a long day of activities. Can you tell we totally enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others who are looking for this type of experience?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
3.7 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
36.7 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
36.7 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.0 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
42.4 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
41.5 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45-3503 Kahana Dr, PO Box 185, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-6901
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,702 - ₹ 26,055
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remote yet luxurious bed and breakfast on the big island of Hawaii. Located in beautiful Ahualoa above the town of Honokaa, Waianuhea's five guest rooms combine a sense of remote retreat with modern convenience and sumptuous furnishings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waianuhea Hotel Honokaa
Waianuhea Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing