We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A view of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Kukui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kukui
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A view of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Lovely, well appointed cottages with stunning views of the Waipio Valley. We had a hot soaking tub on the deck and you could pick the fruit off the trees. Our friendly hostesses were very helpful when we needed them and respected our privacy when we didn't. Very convenient to the entrance of the valley and only a few miles from the amenities of Honokaa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed here during Spring Break with our 3 young kids in the 2 bedroom cottage. The views are breathtaking from the balcony and there is nothing like watching the sun come up over Waipio Valley. We traveled with a 3, 6, and 13 year old and they all found plenty to keep them busy during our stay. The orchard was a great place to explore and pick some fresh fruit everyday. My kids absolutely loved waking up to the rooster every morning. We'd hear them giggling every morning and when we asked them what was so funny they would tell us it was the rooster. Living in a very large city this was all new to them. They would go out in the mornings and play with the dog that always seemed to be hanging around and wagging his tail and they would gather fruit and look for chicken eggs. Sarah, the owner, is just sweet as can be. She let us borrow beach chairs and boogie boards so that all the kids could play in the ocean and she even had a closet of toys in the cottage to keep them busy. The tv reception is pretty nonexistent up there but she was nice enough to let us borrow a dvd player so that the kids could watch a movie to unwind in the evenings (Hawaii is a 5 hr time difference from home). If there is a down side it would be that since you are on the wet side of the island it does rain a lot and there is a lot of moisture in the air/cottage. Also, the bugs seem to be a bit bigger than what we are accustomed to but we only saw 3 all week so it wasn't bad at all. All in all I would definitely consider staying there again. I think the best part about it is that it is located centrally on the island so it only takes about an hour to reach Hilo on one side and an hour to reach Kona on the other side. That makes planning your days a whole lot easier. Oh, and if you go you must try the pizza place in Honakaa. It is delicious but remember to bring cash as they do not accept plastic of any kind. Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapoho, HI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

I recently stayed at this lovely place and had a marvelous time. The view is stunning, peaceful and quiet. Sarah, the proprietor is gracious and welcoming. I found the accommodations immaculate & well maintained. This is the tropics so for those who can't stand the thought of insects - stay home.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyinHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed 4 nights at Hale Kukui's 2-bedroom guest unit in March '08. One morning over coffee on the lanai I thought about the Nov. '07 Trip Advisor review which quite forcefully put down Hale Kukui. There is such a big difference between those who want all the ameneities of a resort and those who wish to experience a 'homey' lifestyle. While listening to the birds, looking across the orchard to the ocean and thinking about that review I thought, "I could so-o-o-o see myself LIVING in this place!" In a nutshell, this is what a guesthouse offers vs. a resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and went on to 4 nights in Puna and 6 nights near Capatin Cook- again in guesthouses and again enjoying our experiences.

  • Liked — quiet + near N. Kohala Wiamea and Waipio Valley
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dakbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

My husband and I live on the Big Island and have made Hale Kukui Orchard Retreat our special get away destination. Our favorite unit is the Cottage, where the views of, Waipio Valley and the N. Kohala coast are breathtaking! The entire view is on display anywhere you are in the unit and lanai.
The Cottage has it all. Beautiful decor, clean and spacious, King bed etc.
If you are like us and need to unwind in a peaceful, natural setting away from crowded resorts, this is the place.
Mahalo to the owner for creating our home away from home!

  • Liked — the view and just about everything!
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank farner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
29.1 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.7 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
27.2 km away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
35.9 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
34.9 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kukui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kukui

Property: Hale Kukui
Address: 48-5460 Kukuihaele Road, Mailing-P.O. Box 273, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Honokaa
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,480 - ₹ 20,152
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Kukui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See Hale Kukui's was featured in Aloha Magazine, Sotheby's international and HGTV for its phenomenal views, great service and ranks number 1 in the area. Located in the village of Kuikuihaele just outside of Honoka'a. We have 3 cottages. A two bedroom cottage, studio cottage and orchard cottage all have spectacular ocean and Waipio views on 5 acres of exotic permaculture organic orchard with every kind of common to bizarre fruits, nuts, coffee, cocoa,, orchids and other flowers on the property. We even have our own swimming hole and a 650 foot waterfall above the famous black sand beach in Waipio Valley. Each private cottage has its own private full bathroom, lanai/deck and hot soaking tub on the lanai. Most amazing views can be seen from your bed. Extra air mattresses are possible. Great for a honeymoon or small wedding with best views on the Big Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Kukui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing