We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
20
26
13
9
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
26
13
9
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old hawaii rustic hotel sugar plantation hamakua coast gracious hosts fresh fruit ocean kona
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Stayed here because it was a logical place to stay on a circular tour of the Big Island. (FYI, I highly recommend a circular tour if you have the time. The island is amazingly diverse from east to west!) Not a whole lot of accommodation choices on this part of the island. This place is like stepping back in time. I stayed in the "new" area, built in 1936 and from what I could tell not updated much since then. Very basic, which means no shampoo, no clock, no TV, no A/C, and even no blinds on the windows, though they were pretty unnecessary. This is truly what it must have felt like to stay in a Hawaiian hotel decades ago. I fully expected to see Ernest Hemingway there. (Yeah, I know he was more of a Cuban than a Hawaiian guy.) Breakfast is also very basic, so if you're looking for something hot or something other than coffee (no juice) then you'll have to look elsewhere. The owners were very helpful. Decent selection of restaurants within a five minute walk. If you like history then you'll probably really like this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

This place is definitely worth the price. It is very old and outdated but lovely at the same time. The little town is really cute and nice to walk through and has great food! Would definitely stay there again. Anelle was very nice, helpful, and accommodating and we enjoyed chatting with her and getting great advice. The room was very clean and cozy too! Loved it

Stayed: February 2018
Thank cperry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The owners are warm and very welcoming. Parking was easy, the price for a night was cheap for a spot 20 minutes from Waimea. Downtown Honoka'a is a short walk from the hotel. The place is quite dated but charming. Only negative is that it can get a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The owners of the hotel are friendly, this cute historic hotel is perfect place to stay on the Big Island. Walking distance to restaurants, movies, supermarket and shopping. Short drive to Waipio Valley. Also drive south on the beautiful Hamakua Coast, enjoy Ziplining and Segway at Botanical World Adventures in Hakalau.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Aloha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, as I couldn’t find any other accommodation in the town. Wish I had gone to Waimea! The reception was rude and begrudging, the whole place was very tired, thin walls, and therefore noisy. Breakfast very poor, and overall not an experience I want to repeat!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andyhelenpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews