We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow food to the max!”

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow food to the max!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A charming setting with twinkly lights and Miles Davis music, an ok California wine list and featuring local fresh ingredients. Went twice. First time was not busy, and the experience was good enough to bring us back. Second visit however was quite disappointing due to lousy service. They were swamped. Waited 20 min for our reserved table, then another 20 min for a glass of water and a menu, upon ordering was informed that what we wanted was sold out. Finally ordered and was served over an hour after we arrived. All this without apology. They have some kinks to work out! Hospitality was lacking, and could have smoothed the long waits and inattention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kprintmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    151
    37
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A true gem and little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ate here with my family during our vacation to the Big Island. This restaurant is set up high in the hills overlooking the ocean. The restaurant has an outdoor seating area underneath an arbor next to a koi stream. There is the soothing sound of moving water, the cool breeze coming off the ocean, and the laid back feel of this funky and fun little town.

The ingredients for the food is nearly all locally grown. The food is a sophisticated blend of natural herbs and ingredients made with an expert touch. The portions are extremely large.

We very much enjoyed our meal which was followed by a stroll through town looking at the various art galleries.

Definitely worth the stop!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank littlejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A beautiful setting, really nice servers, and an amazing menu add up to an unforgettable experience. The food was delicious and bountiful. My husband chose this as the best meal of our trip...I said second best, but really, really good. If we're ever in Kauai again, this is one place we'll re-vsit. Worth the drive. Also take time to visit the various galleries in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant above Kona”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

On a island filled with fast food and inconsistent food/value restaurants this place was a breath of fresh air! The lunch my family and I enjoyed was wonderfully fresh and made from local ingredients. We all ordered different entrees and shared the unique flavors. I can't wait to visit this spot again-next time for dinner. In addition to the great food the quiet garden setting made the short drive worth it. If you are looking for a quiet cool place to enjoy a meal check it out!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you're a foodie!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We came back again to the Holuakoa Cafe and Gardens and we were even more impressed! The food was all amazing! We have been coming to Hawaii for 26 years and we had our BEST dinner ever here! Service was fantastic, even though they were very busy! We had rib eye, filet, pizzetta's, blue cheese salads, hummus, bruschetta and a lasagna dinner which was the only thing we wouldn't order again :(. The flour less chocolate torte is heavenly! And the lemonade as well as coffee are the best ever! We will always make a trip to this restaurant when on the Big Island! Can't wait to try lunch one day.
We did come back for the coffee shop one morning and were disappointed. The espresso was weak. They did say they use the same beans as the coffee served in the restaurant so maybe it's not an espresso blend as it should be. Also, they have a very limited choice of breakfast items.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohanatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing