We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treats”

Makani's Magic Pineapple Shack
Ranked #3 of 11 Quick Bites in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 15
Description: Award winning unique drinks, acai bowls, sandwiches, gourmet local ice creams & house made soft serve!
Restaurant details
Description: Award winning unique drinks, acai bowls, sandwiches, gourmet local ice creams & house made soft serve!
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This should be a must do on your list if you are in Hilo. The Ube ice cream is out of this world. The smoothies are great and the sandwiches are HUGE and tasty. YUMMY!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank anna4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Man this place FLIPPING rocks!
We got a warm glazed donut with Ube(sweet potato ice cream, don’t knock it till you tried it) and a Passion Bomb drink and a Coconut Mocha, seriously if your in Hilo give it a go. Good luck to this family in the future and if you ever wanna franchise in Sydney let me know hahahahaha you guys rock

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank benjamindV7144CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I always have a hard time picking out what to eat/drink here. Their combinations are pretty amazing (on the eyes and taste buds), and I always fall back to something with peanut butter. The seem to be a little pricey, but their services sizes are HUGE (especially for the bowls)! Definitely recommend sharing if you're just planning to "taste" it. Great place to stop for a refreshing treat. They're just so pretty to look at.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Cherilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

The purple sweet potato drink was amazing! The BLTA sandwiches were good too! Everyone in the family enjoyed their meals! Will be going back to try some ice cream!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

This place was on my bucket list as I follow the Instagram account, and the foods looked so dreamy!! The item that I loved on Instagram was actually gigantic in person! There was no way I was going to be able to eat that. I settled for a donut sandwich. The donut was warm and soft; therefore you knew it was freshly made. In the donut was a scoop of ube and guava ice cream which made for a delectable treat. My daughter ordered a couple scoops of lychee ice cream in a mini pineapple. She was in heaven. This is a great place to stop and check out. I would definitely come here again but be hungry to try the other items on the menu as they were large in size.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MeganG6457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makani's Magic Pineapple Shack also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makani's Magic Pineapple Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing