We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great condo unit, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs Country Club front on Banyan Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
41 reviews
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs
Country Club front on Banyan Street
Queen bed
Queen hide a bed
Dresser, mirror and floor lamp
Looking toward balcony through living area
Armoir and dining table w 4 chairs
Living room area
Dining table and 4 chairs
Kitchen area
Bathroom and linens
Bathroom sink area
Lilikulani Park walking distance
Coconut Island Park walking distance
Daily maintenance for outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
capecodgu...
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great condo unit, great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This unit is very well maintained by the owner. All appliances (fridge, microwave, etc.) worked fine, as did the shower. WiFi was free and worked fine but the cable TV reception was poor (the lower-numbered channels could not be watched at all and others had static lines across the picture). The bed was large and very comfortable. This unit is at the end of the complex and faces Reed's Bay. The lanai looks out on the condo pool below and Reed's Bay with a single coconut palm between. A nice refreshing breeze blows in off the bay - - I left the lanai door open and never used the AC (it was on when I arrived so I know it works well). I could hear the gentle lapping of waves on the rocky coast all night long (there is no beach here - - not unusual in Hilo). From bed at night I could look out the lanai and watch the moon rise behind that single palm tree.

Keep in mind that every unit's quality depends on its location in the building and the individual owner. This unit is superb but the condo building itself is run-down and in desperate need of some TLC. The carpets in the hallways and 2 elevators are dirty and stained and both areas smell, the stairwells are bare concrete with paint splatters, there is rust and peeling paint, etc. The complex leases the land from the state and is very likely that the state will not renew the long-term lease when it runs out in March 2015 - - so the complex will have to shut down, which will be a shame. During my stay there were many families there that had been displaced from Pahoa due to the lava flow so they may be forced to move again in the spring and there are few affordable units available in the area. Hopefully the condo owners board and the state can come to some agreement but people I talked to were not optimistic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location of the unit within the building and location of the complex in Hilo
Liked least: run-down building and no beach (but that's Hilo)
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55Kathie
Malvern, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect all-in-one vacation rental!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo was exactly as described to us. The kitchen had all the utensils, dishes and appliances you could need. The bathroom was clean and we had plenty of good towels, washcloths. The pull-out sofa was adequate and the bed was excellent for comfort. There was plenty of nice bedding. This close to the bay and yet, with the lanai door closed, you aren't bothered with any outside noise. And the VIEW! It is right on the bay! Beautiful sunrises! The room is close to the elevator and the elevator comes out right by the first floor laundry. There is a general store next door and a souvenir store one block away. About 4 blocks away is Coconut Island with good fishing and good swimming and beautiful views and lots of community activities. If/when I return, I will definitely contact the owner and hope that this condo is available for my rental again And I will tell anyone I know, who is going to Hilo, to check it out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: it is a little far from downtown, had to drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private wi-fi; corner condo;full-size refrigerator; ocean view; proximity to parks and beach.
Liked least: Liked it all - no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom E
McCall, ID
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I was surprised, in a very good way!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

After reading some of the reviews, I had steeled myself to expect less than what we found. The property was in a wonderful location with gorgeous views of Reeds Bay. Having breakfast on the balcony after watching the sun rise across the bay was a wonderful experience. It's true, the building has seen some weather, but the room was comfortable, nicely appointed and well stocked with the necessary utensils and appliances. I wouldn't plan on preparing gourmet meals there, but for vacation cooking, it met our needs perfectly. The site management folks were helpful and friendly and we felt safe at the property and while walking down the beautiful Banyan-lined street to the nearby shops and Liliuokalani Gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOCATION! ....and the owner's quick response to our inquiries and the good internet service he made available.
Liked least: Kitchen area could use better lighting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenlynn...
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of Hilo Harbor from nice-sized lanai.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We so appreciated the wonderful view from the condo, the kitchenette, the local Farmer's Market, and the suggestions of our host who owns the condo. It was wonderful being in Hilo near everything - the Lilioukoulani Park and a nearby restaurant with live Hawaiian music.
Mahalo for sharing this gem. Aloha - Karen and Ken

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lanai
Liked least: hallway smelled like smoke
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing