We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick visit!”

Maunakea Visitor Information Station
Ranked #7 of 52 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 22 August 2018

20% less oxygen once you get to the visitor's center. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable! Be sure to go during the day so you can continue to ascend to the Summit. 4 wheel drive vehicles are required.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Reshma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mauna kea"
in 190 reviews
"wheel drive"
in 81 reviews
"milky way"
in 74 reviews
"bring warm clothes"
in 45 reviews
"stargazing program"
in 30 reviews
"watch the sunset"
in 59 reviews
"light pollution"
in 24 reviews
"star gazing program"
in 20 reviews
"night vision"
in 19 reviews
"hot water"
in 44 reviews
"saddle road"
in 80 reviews
"visitor's center"
in 53 reviews
"gift shop"
in 72 reviews
"low gear"
in 14 reviews
"new moon"
in 17 reviews
"sea level"
in 32 reviews
"altitude sickness"
in 16 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

If you can go at night, the view is amazing. Go early because they limit # of cars allowed (we got there at 4:30pm) and check the websight for nights they are open. It's cold up there, even in the middle of summer

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank yenrod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Very glad we made the drive from Volcano to tour the area around the VIS. Some beautiful hikes and vistas - teenage son said it was the most beautiful view he'd seen - and that was with clouds completely masking Hilo and the ocean. Rangers were eager to answer any question you had. We did not stay to see the stars that night as we'd intended. Despite the porta potties, there are regular bathrooms around the side of the VIS. Definitely bring warm clothes as the reviews recommend. Clouds came in during our drive home, which made the descent a bit perilous. With Volcano NF closed, this is as close as we managed to get to a volcano. No place to fill water bottles so bring plenty.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank vkbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I toured the Mauna Kea summit on August 1, 2018. It was breath-taking. I had the benefit of receiving the tour from a friend who works at Keck. This was definitely the way to do it. We were able to drive around the entire summit and even walked to the high point of the summit. My friend gave a tour of the entire Keck telescope complex, which was very interesting to an aerospace engineer who works with space telescopes. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Going from sea level to nearly 14,000 feet can be rough on some people. I did not have any problems, but I live at 5,000 feet back home and regularly hike and camp above 11,000 feet. If you are not accustomed to life at higher altitude, please be cautious as you get up to the summit as it is not for everyone.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank goodricm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

You can easily drive to the station with a normal car, if you are not going to the summit and only to he station. You can watch videos about observatories, ask questions, stargaze (depending on the weather, day you visit, so call and ask what they are doing on the day you are planning to go). There is a shop, restrooms, you can hike the area but make sure someone knows you are hiking.But hiking to the summit I do not recommend, since the weather can change dramatically quick. A must go to. Recommend.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Branka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maunakea Visitor Information Station also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Maunakea Visitor Information Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing