We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Island Backpacking Hostel

Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I booked a private room, the room is very spacious. The stairs is a little too much if you carry heavy luggages, the bath room is clean, you can rent towels for 2 bucks, the place is quiet and clean, would like to go back someday!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanrfrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
12
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The hostel itself is beautiful - an old church remodeled. The rooms are clean and the big, open common area is comfortable and great for meeting everyone there. The nice perks include free internet and toast/fruit in the morning for breakfast.

I arrived at a time where the owners seemed off their game. The guests staying there had all had experienced problems with the owners around airport pickups and tour bookings. Hearing the conversations between staff and backpackers, better communication from staff would have alleviated all problems.

I personally only experienced minor inconveniences: I couldn't pay for my room with credit card as the booking website had led me to believe, and, quickly learned that unless they have a minimum of five people the tours they advertise will not be offered. Simple statements on the website could clarify both these situations.

My biggest concern was that, at one point, the owners took off and left the hostel unattended. The main door was left unlocked and wide open, while several room keys were in plain sight on the front desk where any random person walking in could just reach over the desk and grab them.

Next time I'm in Hilo, I'll try out the Hilo Bay Hostel across the street because all the other backpackers I met on my trip had stayed there and gave it rave reviews.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartworldtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I was prepared to give this place a higher rating, since it is very clean and well appointed, especially the private rooms, but there are many cons which people need to be aware of:

Pros:
- Clean and nice
- Spacious
- downtown hilo, so right near the local bus station - but its $16 taxi to the airport if you are lucky enough to arrive when taxis are running - don't rely on the hostel to pick you up or drop you off.

Cons:
- There was no hot water for 2 of the days that I was there because the fuse kept going out. There is also no hot water downstairs, meaning none in the downstairs bathroom or to do dishes, which is really not hygenic.
- Staff is incredibly disorganized, unreliable, and the owner will lie to your face.
- Even when you reserve online weeks in advance, they don't have your reservation.
- The tours that they tout on their website don't actually run, even when you reserve them.
- They don't reply to emails.
- The phone number for them on both their website and at the airport is wrong, half the time you call the correct number, you get a voice mail.
- Noisy, especially on weekends since its right near a bar.

Overall, if you are renting a car and need a place to crash, I'd recommend this place, but have a backup place to stay. Also, do not count on going to any of their tours, or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Off-and-Away-I-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic, australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

freindly &helpfull people run this hostel,however 4 problems, cold showers sometimes due to faulty fuse,no blankets you have to ask for them at front desk. Noisy quiet room .Disrespectfull people sometimes make a lot of noise, the sign saying quiet room needs to be larger and the window in the female dorm dose not close at the top,it gets cold in december and I caught a cold and got sick.Breakfast is very good and there is free parking .We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

I loved staying at this hostel!! The person who ran the hostel was respectful and kept the place very clean and quiet. The other people that stayed there were also very respectful and quiet...no big parties or loud music like a different hostel I've stayed at on another island. At the Hilo Backpackers, I stayed in a private room and I felt like I was in a hotel, it had cable TV, comfy bed and decorations that just made me feel at home. All that for a lot less then a hotel! When I go back to Hilo, I would love to stay here again as it is good price, nice location near the downtown area, and the people were wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Luv2_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.6 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 km away
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Backpacking Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Backpacking Hostel

Property: Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Address: 69 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2433 (Formerly Hilo Backpackers Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,454 - ₹ 4,454
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Island Backpacking Hostel is a large two story structure with rooms upstairs and a large common area downstairs. We offer free Wifi, breakfast and operate a locally grown, fresh farmers market in our parking every Thursday and Saturday. We have kayak rentals available for cruising Hilo Bay (which can be viewed from our private rooms) and moped and bicycle rentals for getting around town. Mauna Kea, Volcanos National Park, and beach tours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Island Backpacking Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Backpacking Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing