We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
323
213
52
15
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
213
52
15
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mauna keadeluxe suiteshared kitchensemi private roomour tour guidethe big islandlounge areacommon kitchenown bathroomnice beachescommon areasresidential areaair conditioningrental carsmall refrigeratorstayed nightsfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We stayed there for 4 nights in a Deluxe Suite. It was a perfect stay. Room is perfectly clean and the kitchenstuff is ok (only the pans are not well fitting the herd).
Aircondition works well and the room is very big.
We would definitly come again :-)

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Aloha and mahalo nui for leaving us a review! We are happy that you had such a perfect stay in our Deluxe Suite! This is definitely one of our most popular rooms for traveling guests; especially since it has not just a queen size bed, but also a private bathroom and kitchenette! What other hotels can you cook your own meal in your room? We are proud to have an amazing housekeeping staff that helps us keep our rooms immaculate. We would hate to check into a messy room! We welcome you to join us again during future travels to the Island of Hawaii and we hope that you will also consider joining us on our amazing adventure tours as well; Mauna Kea Summit Tour, Volcano Twilight Tour, Frozen Fire Excursion, and many more! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Woah, just woah. Did the Mauna Kea Tour. One of the most amazing things I have ever done. Totally worth the price. And if you stay at the lodge you get a discount. Our tour guide was David, who was the best tour guide I have ever had. He was so professional and so knowledgeable about astronomy, the history of the Hawaiian culture, and the observatories. He made us all feel welcome! I even ran into him a few days later on a completely different part of the island, and he remembered my name, and was genuinely happy to see me! He is awesome. The tour would have been amazing either way, but having him lead it made it a truly unique experience. I even remember some of the constellations he showed us, and picked them out during the rest of my stay on the island, which was just made me smile.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Aloha and mahalo nui for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy to hear that our Mauna Kea Summit Tour left such an amazing mark on you! We will definitely let David know that he was the best guide you have every had! That is definitely an amazing compliment! Thank you! We are proud to employ the best, most knowledgeable and personable guides here at Arnott's Lodge, and David is no exception! He is definitely one of our best! We are thrilled that you felt welcome and that you truly enjoyed the tour! We hope that you stayed warm and learned an amazing amount about our home here in the Pacific! We welcome you to join us again during future travels to Hawai'i! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

First time staying at Arnott’s Lodge. Did a Sunset Tour last year and enjoyed it a lot. For this trip I stayed in the Deluxe Room. I throughly enjoyed the comfortable room. The newly installed AC system made it quite a comfy room during the hot humid day times. Very nice accommodations. Would love to encourage family and friends to travel with me the next trip and we could rent out the entire unit.

Staff was very hospitable and courteous. Mahalo Glory for showing true “Aloha” spirit. Blessings and Aloha always!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vonnramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Aloha and mahalo for leaving us a review! We are stoked that you chose to return to us here at Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures! It is awesome that you noticed the changes in our lodge from your last visit! We are always striving to improve our lodge to make guest vacations more convenient and comfortable! We welcome you and your friends and family to definitely visit! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Facilities are very good and the staff are helpful. I went on a couple of trips and the guides were excellent and informative. The hostel is located out of the town so having a car is a must as there is no supermarket or restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Aloha and mahalo nui for your review. We are stoked to hear that you got to partake in a couple of our amazing adventures! We are proud to employ amazing tour guides that are super knowledgable and personable to make the tours enjoyable! We are also thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at our lodge! Regarding the need for a vehicle, as our lodge is located in a smaller residential area in the Keaukaha area, we do state on our website that while we are within walking distance of local beaches, we are a 1.5hour walk from downtown Hilo (10-15 minute drive). Of course, there are also our rental bikes, city bus, and Uber/Lyft/Taxi available for transportation. We hope that during your next trip to Hilo, you will again choose Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures, except next time with a vehicle to make your stay more convenient. Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Excursion was great! Room was clean. No tv it was outside but who goes to Hawaii to watch tv. Only thing I noticed was bad musty odor in room. I have lung issues and still have issues from that night.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to leave a review! Your feedback is very much appreciated! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed the tour! We are also happy that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We agree on the idea of, "why come to Hawai'i to watch TV??". Regarding the musty odor in the room, prior to every check-in, we inspect all rooms for anything that may seem off; our housekeeping never mentioned a musty odor. However, we would have been happy to relocate you to a different suite had you brought this to our attention. As mentioned before, we appreciate all feedback from our guests, especially those that may have a significant impact on those guests. We hope that you will choose Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures again during future travels, and join us on our other amazing excursions! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews