We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 219
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilo Bay Hostel(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
251
464
300
77
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
464
300
77
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grillattached restaurantclose to the airportice pondkoi pondsmall museumthe big islandhawaiian familybanyan drivebudget hotelfree breakfastolder hotelold hawaiibeds were comfortableceiling fanconvenient locationair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Beautiful hotel with a full breakfast. Room even came with lotion and a sewing kit. Just walk across the street to the park along the bay and watch the sea turtle up close. Candy and fresh fruit anytime you want in the lobby (no cost). Even a museum room with a great look a Hawaiian history. A/C worked well and did not create a cold draft on the bed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us! We're glad you had a chance to explore not only our Hawaiian History Museum on site, but also got up close with our local honus (turtles).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

On short notice we needed to stay on the east side of the island and found this charming little hotel. Front desk clerk was very helpful and accommodating. When we got up in the morning we found a charming park across the street with huge banyan trees. A nice experience in all.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was able to surpass your expectations! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Was calling hotels to help my daughter find overnight accommodations due to the evacuation of Puna. I asked if they had availability. Was told yes, but they were not taking reservations. Only first come first serve with a few rooms left. I tried to ask a second question of the room rate and she rudely said again. Only first come first serve OK. and then proceeded to hang up. She was very agitated when I asked a question and by the tone of her voice didn't want to answer anything more after informing me first come first serve.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank kellie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Aloha Kellie,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We apologize for the recent experience you had with our reservations department. This incident was not the best representation of the standards in how we treat each of our valued guests with the utmost Aloha spirit. Unfortunately, the recent volcanic activity created a massive influx in which many evacuees sought safety in accommodations with our hotel. As we were nearing full capacity, our staff did their best to serve our guests in the fairest method possible. Again, please accept our apologies and we hope you were able to find a safe place for your daughter. If you have any further concerns you would like to discuss, feel free to contact me at ckramer@seasidehotelshawaii.com. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Conveniently located in Hilo town. 5 minutes from the airport. Nice boutique hotel. Rooms are very clean, front desk staff very welcoming and helpful. Grounds are very beautiful and well manicured. Nice koi pond with ducks front of lobby. Ice pond across the street. Walking distance to many restaurants. In house restaurant is also very good.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank kepola50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here bc we wanted to be on the east side of island & explore before a scheduled week at Fairmont on west side. Rooms are small and very dated. Small bathroom. Couldn’t figure out how to turn on A/C (it looked broken) so did without - it got a little musty as a result. At least we were warm. We honestly just slept there, we were out & about all day.
Service was great. Breakfast just ok. Very close to Hilo airport & 40min from Volcano National Park.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Travel_the_world11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews