We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
365
383
205
105
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
383
205
105
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula hula wrap around balcony self park warm cookies lobby bar corner room breakfast buffet merrie monarch view of the bay ocean front the big island banyan drive national park japanese garden rental car banyan trees close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019

When the $20.00 per day didn’t work they decided to add $10 which equals $30.00 per day and say it was for parking and internet and they through in two free drinks per day and other perks that seniors do much use.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank DoctorPc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdG1539, Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Aloha DoctorPc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your most recent stay with us. Just to clarify, we are a resort and our resort fee includes parking, snorkeling, and two drink vouchers daily to name a few of its benefits. This information is provided prior to booking. Previously, our daily cost of parking was $20 and did not include any other perks. Mahalo and we hope you have a more enjoyable time during your next Hilton stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

First lets say that I would stay here again if in the Hilo area and give them another chance to improve on what I experienced with the check in process. Our room was not ready when we arrived and we were told to come back much later, when we did there was a large and very slow moving line up and it took far too long to get checked in. The person whom I dealt with both times was not very accommodating or friendly. Saying that, the hotel and grounds were nice, all other staff that we encountered from valets, bell hops, store clerks and cleaning staff were very friendly and courteous.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRDman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdG1539, Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Aloha BRDman7,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of our resort, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We apologize for the incident that occurred during your check-in experience and can assure you that this is not typical. We are glad, however, that our staff and resort were able to make your trip enjoyable! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

The Hotels location looking out onto the bay and its proximity to Hilo Town and Airport are fantastic. Easy walk to the japanese gardens and Island. Ocean swimming right at the hotel!! Nice pool small but placed right. Both Hula Hula and the Lobby Bar have live music in the early eve! even some Hula Dances!!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdG1539, Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Aloha Richard L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it! We love the location just as much! We hope to welcome you back to Hilo soon and we hope that we can earn a 5-star review from you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

We picked this location because it was our first time in Hilo, there are not tons of options, and we wanted to be right on the water. We had an ocean view room with a balcony and the view over the bay was great. The hotel is clean and clearly remodeled. The grounds are kept up well. The valet and front desk staff were very friendly and nice as were the staff in the main part of the restaurant. On the downsides...the interior insulation is not good so it's easy to hear both bathroom noises and hall noise, though we did not hear our neighbors (if there were any). The $30/day resort fee is too steep -- free snorkels but no place really to snorkel easily on the Hilo side anymore; free 9 holes of golf but who cares; a few free special drink vouchers. The most negative experience we had was with staff in the bar area. They didn't see particularly interested in serving us, and we kept seeing tables with reserved signs but no one ever used the table...a way to reduce the workload? Strange.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 479pattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdG1539, Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Aloha 479pattic,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on the areas that we can improve. We really value your opinion, as customer satisfaction is our core value. Our $30 resort fee is standard for any resort and includes valet parking, snorkeling for two people daily, and drink vouchers and more! Hilo Bay has a plethora of coral reefs and fish to check out while snorkeling. With that being said, we apologize that our staff did not provide a worthwhile experience for you. Hopefully, we will be able to make it right with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

We arrived here after a very nice stay at another place and a very long car trip. It was a very nice hotel with nice staff, very clean and no resort charges. We enjoyed the free coffee and the free cookies and free drinks

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geng2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdG1539, Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Aloha geng2012,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our resort, we really appreciate hearing about your experiences! Just to clarify, we do have a $30 per room, per night resort fee that offers a plethora of benefits. Hopefully, we will be able to earn a 5-star review from you on your next stay with us! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews