We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts and Property”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Overall great trip. I've written my full review on Judy's Book. http://www.judysbook.com/members/287003/posts/2012/2/19296810

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank alihiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ken and Erin are magnificent hosts and make a mean breakfast! My husband and I had a very relaxing wonderful stay at the Luana Inn. The room was very comfortable. The grounds are lovely with a great jacuzzi and beautiful pool (not heated). Erin provides a extraordinary book full of activities and places to visit during your stay. Very easy vacation spot with hosts that really make you feel at home. Will return.

Room Tip: Moana room was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchesgirlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed several times at this wonderful Inn. The owners Ken and Erin are always took wonderful care of us. They served every morning a delicious breakfasts with breathtaking views to the ocean. Everything they serve is made fresh from scratch, very tasty, and healthy, I liked especially the banana bread;-). The rooms are spacious, tasteful furnished, and clean. The lanai offers a pool, jacuzzi, and BBQ. This is the place to relax and stay away from the tourist madness areas on the island. However if you want to go there it is only a short drive to Kona.
Whenever we go to Big Island this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennoritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Ken and Erin represent the very best of B/B hosts... they know their island; they share the cooking bring fresh ingredients to the table each morning; they keep a clean and tidy property. We rented the Moana room which is off the common room (great room). Moana is a bit more private than the 2 other rooms in the main building. Slight negative in the room is a rather small TV, but a DVD player included. DVDs for rent. The POOL and HOT TUB with a nice hillside view of the ocean and hill side are BIG POSITIVES! This side of the island is dry, and looks it. Definitely not a rain forest, and the VOG related to the volcanic activity meant it was a little hazy. We've stayed at 2 other B/Bs on the Big Island, but this will be our first choice on our next visit. My ratings are comparing this inn to other B/Bs, not to full resorts or hotels which are a different experience all together.

A big plus were the number of cozy local eating establishments that the innkeepers directed us to. I estimate that half of the diners in the places were local residents... compare that to any hotel or resort on Hawaii. The area is a very nice blend of local Hawaii and tourists.

5 stars to the hosts Ken and Erin. They've really thought their business through, work hard, and the guests reap the benefits.

Room Tip: Moana room is a bit more private. Mahini and Makani both open to the pool though I didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at Luana Inn with Ken and Erin. It is our favorite place to stay in Hawaii!
Hospitality comes from the heart and Ken and Erin share their heart with all their guests. We have loved the breakfast conversations that just unfold with other guests at the Luana. The best breakfasts are served here - both Ken and Erin create wonderful hot tasty breakfasts to start your day. They love their home, their Island and life and it comes across like a wonderful unseen but clearly felt breeze. Their children are absolutely delightful.
We love lounging out by the pool in the daytime, and cooking our dinner on the BBQ on the patio in the evening and watching the sun go down. Best view!!
Luana Inn is a perfect home base for exploring this side of the Big Island and we again enjoyed the fabulous snorkelling nearby, hiking down to the Captain Cook Monument and snorkelling from there.
Look forward to returning one day with our kids and grandchildren.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
2.3 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
295 reviews
20.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.7 km away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#3 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
417 reviews
1.7 km away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
21.7 km away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: ₹ 10,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Captain Cook, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing