We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A second stay and a storybook wedding”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from your lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area Outdoor Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area
Outdoor Kitchen
Gazebo and outdoor dining
Master Bedroom
Shower outdoors under the stars or a perfect place to rinse off from a day at the beach
Sitting Area and Pull Out Sofa
Entrance
Siesta??
Backyard
Walkway to Gazebo
Seating Area
Inside Kitchen
Swimming with the dolphins
Manini Beach - great snorkeling
Another Hawaiian Sunset
Wild Orchid View From Your Ohana
One of our turtle friends
Nearby Keei Beach
Plumeria in our front yard
Swimming with a Manta Ray at Manini Beach - only steps away
Monk Seal at Manini Beach
Geicko
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
VMorisset...
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A second stay and a storybook wedding”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our second stay at Hale Nai'a, and everything was just as perfect as we remembered. We first stayed at this beautiful cottage in December 2013, and we loved it so much we wanted to go back for our own wedding. Planning a wedding from a different country is not an easy task, but the hosts Janice and Rusty we extremely helpful before and during our stay. The morning of the wedding, they helped us set the tables and chairs, pick the flowers (which were all growing in the neighbourhood) and they even accepted to play ukulele at the ceremony! We had a storybook wedding, and it really was thanks to Janice, Rusty.

As for the cottage, it once again exceeded our expectations. The bed is extremely comfortable, the exterior kitchen is fully equipped, everything is very clean and well maintained. It is located just feels from Manini beach, where you can swim daily with dolphins. Our wedding guests were all jealous and want to travel back to Hawaii just to stay at Hale Nai'a! If you plan on traveling to Captain Cook, you really should ''look no further''!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatsbyCle...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights, and it was truly a wonderful stay.

The outside kitchen area had everything we needed for staying in and cooking dinner. In the mornings we had our coffee sitting in the comfy chairs and during the evening we ate dinner in the gazebo with the fun string of lights and ceiling fan on overhead. You do need to pay attention to cleaning up after cooking, but that's just common sense stuff that you would do if you were at home eating on your patio.

There are several different sitting areas, depending on what view of the ocean you want at the time. My husband was totally enamored of the outside shower! The bed was very comfortable, and high enough so you can feel the breezes all night and look right out the window to see the ocean when you wake up in the morning (there is a step stool to help you climb up/in, if needed!). We never used the inside kitchen or sitting area. The washer/dryer is full size, and there's a clothes line for drying as well.

The neighborhood wasn't overly noisy - in fact, I was surprised that it was as quiet as it was given that it was a "real' neighborhood vs a resort area (which I generally find to be incredibly noisy).

The local beach park area is only a few minutes walk down the road, and quite nice. My husband swam (it was a bit too rough for snorkeling, unfortunately) and I took pictures of the lovely scenery and the birds and waded a bit. It was never very crowded, with mostly locals there. There was even a wedding one evening. Try going in the evening. Sit on the rocks and enjoy the sunset. It's lovely.

A few miles down the road in the other direction are Two Step and Pu'uhonua o Honaunau (Place of Refuge). Pu'uhonua o Honaunau is a must see. The cottage is in a nice central location between South Point and the Kona/resort area, or even Hawi.

Although we generally are pretty self suficient Rusty and Janice were always available to answer any questions or provide suggestions on where to go or what to do.

We are looking forward to going back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outside shower
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraTra...
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really a special place”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented many Condos and Cottages, but this was really a unique experience. The outdoor living is so much fun, we went inside only for sleeping (though we could also have slept outside on the futon bed). Insects were not a problem at all.
If you are willing to try something completly different, yet with all the comfort you could possibly ask for, I highly recommend tihs place.
Swimming and snorkeling can be difficult at the beaches close by, due to high surf and rocks. But there are many great places within a short driving distance (f.e.the famous *two steps").

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outdoot living
Liked least: occasionally the neighbourhood was a bit noisy in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph F
1 review
“True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I are new to airbnb and a little hesitant to what we would be getting. We were both blown away with how amazing this place was. Rusty gave us detailed instructions on how to get to this hidden paradise. If you have ever been to Hawaii the off the beaten path places are where the magic is. The things we loved the most: we had the whole cottage to ourselves, but Rusty and Janice were accessible for questions on where to go, how to get around and where things were. The fully loaded outdoor kitchen was amazing to cook and eat all while watching the sunset. They provided all of the cooking utensils and extras you would need to create your meal. It saved us ton cooking our meals so we could enjoy other adventures. Their hospitality was amazing, they have some beach accessories we were able to use, and they are close to amazing snorkeling spots. Overall, we had an amazing and romantic stay and did not want to leave. This is a true gem to find and you will undoubtedly enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor kitchen/living with a ocean bay view.
Liked least: Driving down from town takes some time, but stop at the grocery store before going down and no need to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed 25 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was our 5th trip to Hawaii, and our second trip to the Big Island. We have used rental properties each time, never having stayed in a hotel. We stayed here for 5 nights for our anniversary. The description and previous reviews sounded interesting, so we tried it.

The house is about 40 minutes from the airport, longer if it's raining, which it was when we arrived. The last part of the drive is on a really winding/curvy road--no exaggeration. There are no street lights in this part of Hawaii. Thank God for GPS!! Although the owners provide detailed directions, it's easy to get lost at the end of the drive as you near the house. You park outside under covered parking adjacent to the living room.

The house itself is a little . . .different. You enter up 3 stairs into a living room/kitchen. There is no dining table inside, so if you plan to eat inside, you will have to sit at the coffee table in the living room. The indoor kitchen is small, with a small stove, a fridge which the owners will turn on if you like (there's an outdoor fridge which is preferred for renter's use). NO microwave, dishwasher, or dining table inside.

There is one bedroom. The bed is really high and difficult to get on without a running start. I'm 5' 9" and it was still hard to get on! On the plus side, the bed is comfortable. All the windows to the house have screens on them and are left open for the trade winds. We also used the ceiling fans in all the rooms. There is no AC, which can be bad on hot humid days, even with the windows open, as we realized the last day of our stay. Read on.

There is an indoor bathroom with tub and shower. You walk out of the indoor bathroom,, down 3 steps and into the outdoor kitchen, which is a bit of a strange arrangement. We found it cumbersome to go through the bathroom, open a screen door, go down 3 stairs, grab whatever you need from the outdoor kitchen, open the screen door again (with full hands), back through bathroom, into living room/kitchen, and set it all down. It takes a while to learn what switches turn what on outside, although they have labeled the switches.

There is also an outdoor hot water shower enclosed by bamboo sticks. The neighbors won't be able to see you, but can probably hear you if you use the outdoor shower, because we could definitely hear them talking from the shower. You may find a gecko near the outside shower too. The person(s) in the outdoor shower is(are) visible clearly from the bedroom, which is probably intentional, so be aware of that too. This is fine for a couple, but if you have a large family, warn them about "naked grandma" in the shower.

There is an outdoor kitchen which has a fridge, electric range, microwave, dishwasher, toaster oven, washer/dryer, & a couple of eating areas. The owners provided insect repellent spray and mosquito coils to repel mosquitoes. Dengue fever has been reported in the area so be warned! There is an enclosed gazebo which we used once, but found too cumbersome to carry food into, zip the enclosure closed to keep mosquitoes out, etc.

There's also another covered seating area beyond the gazebo. There is a hammock for those so-inclined. There are a couple of seating areas on either side of the outdoor kitchen as well, with a propane grill that we used when the power went out (see below). The only dining table outside was inside the gazebo. The seating areas mentioned above only had coffee tables, so it's difficult to eat a meal there. The outdoor areas seem maximized for several groups to hang out, not really made for a couple. The furniture is all pretty old.

There isn't much separation between the rental house and the owners who live next door. There is technically an ocean view, but a lot of obstructions in the way blocking the view of the water. If you seek utter privacy, this is not the place for you. On the plus side, the owners are always nearby should you need anything. They were friendly and invited us for drinks one evening and even took us to a place to hear Hawaiian music another night.

The whole neighborhood felt congested. The neighbors and nearby snorkeling/sea kayaking business are a bit loud. There is also traffic noise from the street although there is not much traffic. The wi-fi is HORRIBLE quality. My wife's laptop somehow got a connection, but my cell phone never got wi-fi. If you need to have reliable internet access, this place does not have it.

On our last day there, the power went out in the middle of the night. The house became pretty stifling with the heat and humidity by mid morning, and no electricity for the fans. I had to shave using a headlamp, and my wife had to apply her makeup using electric candlelight--not ideal.

We were allowed to check out late, but decided to get out around 11 am because the house was too uncomfortable. To be fair, we were told the power outage was caused by a car hitting an electric pole and is probably not a frequent event.

To sum up, the outdoor kitchen and spaces are the main spaces intended to be used. The indoor kitchen was not well equipped for use. Also, you will have to spray mosquito repellent on yourselves in the morning and evening hours if you have any intention of using the outdoor spaces. We found this to be a hassle, but not everybody would care.

Positives:
Good nightly rate
Snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, boogie boards, beach bags, coolers, covered parking provided
Near several good snorkeling spots
Friendly owners
Outdoor shower
Comfortable bed (once you get on)
Neighborhood felt safe
Rental property detached from owners' property (no shared walls), feels more private than condos
Fruit provided free
Condiments, spices, oil, butter, cooking utensils, flatware, tea kettle, teas, Sriracha, sauces, sugar provided
Mosquito repellents provided
Soap, shampoo, conditioner, sunblock, lotion, towels provided
Washer, dryer, dishwasher, detergents provided
Decent location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor shower, good bed
Liked least: Bad wifi, loud neighborhood, view not great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;