We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Step back, take a look at the past” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Coffee Living History Farm

Kona Coffee Living History Farm
Book In Advance
US$ 415.00*
and up
One Day Tour: Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour - Island Hopping Oahu to Hawaii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through the award-winning Kona Coffee Living History Farm that tells the story of Kona’s coffee pioneers during the 1920’s. It is America’s only living history coffee farm where you may “talk story” with costumed historians and discover the history behind Kona’s gourmet crop. As an added treat you may sample and buy our 100% Kona Coffee grown here on our farm.Come join us! You won’t leave this place without feeling you have experienced a rare glimpse into Hawai`i’s colorful past.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Step back, take a look at the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Kona Historical Society has several projects in the area. This is the latest addition to their offerings. It is highly interactive, interesting, and loaded with new information. My guests and I always come away with images of life before technology and population growth of Hawaii Island changed it. Very knowledgeable docents provide just enough information to send you home appreciative of families who settled here and contributed to a sustaining of life on this island.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wahinetraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

On arrival we were offered a cup of Kona coffee, which was very welcome. The tour began out in the fields by the coffee bushes and moved through the various stages from collecting the beans to drying beans. Each stage was explained clearly and with enthusiasm. The tour concluded with atour of the house which is as it would of looked when the Japanese farmer lived there. We were offered more coffee before leaving. A very interesting tour and well worth doing if you are anywhere near Kona.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Free coffee and crack your own Macadamia nuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice overview of coffee process and how coffee was originally produced on Hawaii. Very knowledgeable local guides.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillfrCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visit the place where it all started”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I love Kona coffee and it was an absolute joy to walk around the plantation. The smell alone was like a tether to my nostrils. I could not tear myself away from the samples!

My kids enjoyed the tour and seeing real beans growing on a tree left an impression with them. Although I would not let them taste the coffee, there was a multitude of treats for them.

They are not open on the weekends and only open M-Th from 10am to 2 pm. We just made it.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GSmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“How a Coffee Growing Family Lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

You have the opportunity to see how a Japanese coffee growing family lived.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Box134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Coffee Living History Farm also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Coffee Living History Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing