We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless relaxation in a natural setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio
Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
New Serta Perfect Sleeper queen bed with ocean view
Kitchenette with fridge, two burner hot plate, coffee maker, blender, filtered water
2nd kitchen counter with toaster oven and microwave. Shows door into changing area and bathroom
Smart TV with Netflix, Pandora, cable and DVD player
Patio with gas-fired BBQ, outdoor dining area, private hot tub and outdoor shower
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water, and private hot tub
Chemical-free salt pool with mermaid, waterfall and ocean view
Mermaid at pool
Private yard with ocean view
Carved dolphins at entryway
Dolphin and whale mural in breezeway entrance
Garden path
Buddha in one of the gardens
Red Ginger in gardens
Lobster Claw Heliconia in the gardens
Best snorkeling on the island at Two Step, next to Place of Refuge
Turtle and tangs, snorkeling at Two Step, just 2.5 miles away
Place of Refuge sunset, a sacred historical park, 2.5 miles away
Painted Church interior, 1/4 mi. away
Spinner Dolphins come into the nearby bays to rest and play
Volcano National Park crater plume, 1.5 hour drive from Tropical Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna3467
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Jungle Experience!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

It is definitely an amazing experience, but don't expect a lot of sleep here as it's noisy with nature! The screens were good to keep mosquitoes out, but we had plenty of other critters keeping us entertained too - we liked the lizards running around the kitchen, less so the ants and other bugs! (who were there on our first day, despite keeping doors closed and food away etc)

The location is great for a few nights for the snorkelling hot spots :-) Lovely jungle atmosphere. Excellent outdoors hot tub. Pool lovely. Snorkelling gear, deck chairs, umbrella etc. Washer/Dryers.

I do think it needs a bit of a clean up & tlc though - I had to wash up plates etc before using as all greasy & cutlery had rice stuck to them. Coffee maker was a bit yuk with ants. Owner wasn't around at the time so I just cleaned up a bit which was fine. Sheets, towels and the fridge were clean though!

Overall, I'd still recommend it as it has more plus points than negative - it's a fun experience for nature lovers who are prepared! :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Hi Anna, I'm sorry that you were not completely happy with your time here. We are in the tropics, in a lush jungle area, so there will be insects, far more than in London. Tropical Hideaway is advertised as being in nature, with screens and half walls, so it is not like a sealed hotel room that has regular pesticide spraying. We do have traps for the insects, and usually do not have an ant problem at all. I will alert the cleaner to check the dishes more carefully each time, but your experience with the dishes is most unusual (must have been the previous guests). The unit is cleaned for 4 hours before each guest arrives. I wish you would have let me know what was bothering you because I would have done whatever I could to make things right. I certainly want our guests to be happy. Most of our guests are enchanted by being in nature (screened in) and the nighttime frogs at a distance. I do keep earplugs in the medicine cabinet. Tropical Hideaway has over 120 very positive reviews from the sites we advertise with. Again, I am sorry that your experience wasn't as positive as our other guests..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipsy_m
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flawless relaxation in a natural setting”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Believe all of the positive reviews that you read about this place. I can't believe 10 months have gone by since we stayed here on our honeymoon, but it really was the highlight of our trip to the Hawaiian islands.

Within close proximity to wonderful snorkelling at Two Step, the Tropical Hideway is a fully equipped self contained dwelling. We had the pool to ourselves, from which there are great vistas.

The outdoor shower was so refreshing, and the kitchen really is fully equipped (not a token kitchenette).

The Big Island has so much to offer and the Tropical Hideaway was the perfect base from which to explore it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
musicdude...
Carbondale, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kathy Carr is a delightful host and has built a wonderful little "tropical hideaway" here at Captain Cook on the Kona side of the Big Island. Perfect for one or a couple who wants to avoid the touristy feeling of Kailua and get a sense of what living on the Big Island is all about, especially if you can stay for a few days and explore. Charming studio with queen size bed, outdoor shower, kitchen and suitable toys for snorkeling, boogie boarding, etc. Fresh fruit from the property and a nice hot tub. Great location - 20-30 mins from Kailua and about 45 from South Point with plenty in between. If you are a Four Seasons kind of traveller, then move on, but if you like to immerse yourself in a real island experience in a lovely, very comfortable open air vacation rental, then I recommend the Tropical Hideway wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, open air/outdoor shower and hot tub
Liked least: is what I expected. quiet vacation rental
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadianE...
Pender Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly delightful oasis on Hawaii's Big Island”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a wonderful little home away from home. It is near some amazing snorkelling and cultural sites. It is quiet and charming. The dipping pool is a real treat and so is the hot tub. We cooked all our meals in the little kitchen and loved our week here. If we ever have the good fortune to return to Hawaii we'd love to come back. Kathleen is generous about sharing her local knowledge and the gift of fresh papayas was a lovely surprise. Our 9 year-old daughter just loved it here too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to natural and cultural wonders.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derfliege...
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“One of the best places I ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the charming tropical hideaway. In my opinion it is just not describable with words - you have to experience the place yourself to really understand.
The fact that there are no windows (just fly-screens) is unusual and sounds kind of weird - at least for people like us coming from an area where you have really cold winters. But in Big island Hawaii this is just fine. In January we had temperatures in the mid sixties at night, so we slept really recreative. We were curious whether or not all the animals would disturb our sleep - but it just did not happen. It was wonderful.
The place itself is very clean and beautiful equipped. You have a kitchen with all the utensils you need for cooking and an outdoor BBQ. Speaking about the outdoor stuff: We really enjoyed the outdoor shower and the Hot Tub!
So if I have the choice to stay in a hotel or in this beautiful hideaway I would definitely go for the hideaway!
Thank you Kathy for the wonderful time!

One last info for planning your vacation on Big Island: If you are willing to see much of the island, plan enough time! The island is called Big Island for a reason - it takes a day to drive around it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All - especially the feeling of sleeping outside - very restful and relaxing
Liked least: That we could not spend more time at this beautiful hideaway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 120
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing