We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We live on The Big Island and recently enjoyed getting away for a short stay. Its like going to a different world, fantastic views, ambiance and the peaceful setting of this B&B was unforgetable. The condition of the property and high maintance standards was obvious, the owner(s)very accomodating and welcoming. Do not hesitate to book and stay in this amazing property. Gourmet brekfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konalizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

My daughter and I spend two nights in the Dolphin room, very nice place, very good breakfast, the owner is very nice also. Just one thing, the mattress was too soft for me, I prefer an hard bed, it's my taste. For everything else, it was perfect. We will recommand for sure to others.
Just rent a jeep to go up because I scratch a bit the under of the car... HUM!!!
Dominique & Marie-Eve

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domoli61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Greg, our host could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are all unique and totally comfy and well equipped with bath products and small mini fridge. Some have spectacular views of the Kona coast below. The evening sky is covered with millions of stats and tree frogs sing you to sleep. Breakfast is plentiful with Kona coffe and amazing homemade waffles with tropical fruit compote. ( bacon,too if you like) Greg was so knowledgeable and was able to show us a fantastic snorkel spot just next to the national park below his property. He even has snorkel gear and kayaks! A great choice to stay - even if the mile ride up the hill is bumpy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel-lionNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

After a week in Oahu, my husband and I decided to make a quick trip to the Big Island booked our room for 2 nights here. The drive from the airport is not bad, 20 min or so, and the directions your are provided with your reservation confirmation were right on, so you can't miss this place. The drive up is not bad at all, a little rocky with some turns, but with a little patience you'll be fine.

We were welcomed and were able to drop off our luggage in our room early, which I though was pleasant as check in was still hours away.

Breakfast was good - fresh fruit, award winning coffee, four different types of quiche and other items such as cereal and yogurt. We met 3 other couples and had interesting conversations with them all as you share a table with other guests for breakfast. Great way to meet people and it wasn't at all awkward.

Our room was comfy and clean. It was freshened up every day and turned down. Will definately stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is a truly lovely place. Breakfasts were creative, healthy and delicious! The setting is stunning, with cozy rooms and gorgeous public spaces. There are few areas off limits in this beautiful house. As to the road up to the house, just take it very slow. It is definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
9.4 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
294 reviews
8.5 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
417 reviews
66.8 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
587 reviews
84.7 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
8.7 km away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#3 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8402
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: ₹ 7,849 - ₹ 20,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Captain Cook, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing