We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha room was great value”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aloha room was great value”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We had a wonderful night at Aloha Guest House in the Aloha room. The room was small (I think the smallest room there) and the Guest House is further from water than they let on when I spoke with them by phone. But the accommodations are very nicely appointed, and the screened in lanai and gas barbecue and small kitchenette were perfect for grilling a fish dinner using fish from a local market. The breakfast in the morning was filling and tasty, and they served delicious 100% kona coffee. Our host who greeted us and the hostess who prepared us breakfast in the morning were both very friendly. They also had snorkeling gear available for nearby snorkeling, which was a plus. This is a great, secluded location. It's not upscale luxury, but it's try very nice, and we felt that $120/night for the small Aloha room was a very good value. It can be tough to find a good value in Hawaii. These folks are offering a great B&B experience for a very fair price. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you to our host and hostess!

Room Tip: The Aloha room is small, but it's clean and a good value. Fridge in room is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    33
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
296
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Aloha House B&B is a beautiful, comfortable space with great bonuses. We were there on our honeymoon in December 2011. We particularly enjoyed the use of the snorkeling gear, the hot tub(no clothes allowed), our room cleaned daily and especially the huge gourmet breakfasts with bottomless kona coffee. Most days we didn't even need lunch!

We did have a little trouble too. Of the 5 mornings we were there we only had hot water in the shower one day and it did not seem like there was any urgency to get it fixed. Also, it seems like there are a lot of rules; like you are staying in someone else's home not your own.

We worked with Suzanne and Greg during our stay. Suzanne was wonderful! She made us breakfast early one day and was so nice! Greg was friendly enough, but did not go out of his way to make us feel welcome or comfortable.

The road is not that bad as long as you take it slow. Overall it was a good experience and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosensTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The whole place is really peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are comfortable, and the top floor feels really open and breezy. Greg was also a welcoming and all-around great host, whether it was cooking tasty meals or telling us stories about his life across the world. Would absolutely stay here again next time we go to the Big Island :)

Be prepared for a rocky road, I'd definitely recommend an SUV. It's oddly fun to drive up and down the road though...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Very boutique and very homely. OK there is a corker of a drive up the hill to get there but that just added to the charm of the place for us. You have to have a 4 wheel drive! The hospitalitty was second to none. We felt like we were staying at someone's house, which we were! There is an outdoor Jacuzzi you can use any time and its ok to get in there in the buff! There was a full moon when we stayed there. How romantic! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here one night only but it was a great escape. The rooms were nicely furnished and the whole place was very neat and clean. The host, Johann was very nice and made a delicious breakfast for us. The view is spectacular and they have a spa. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The only negative is the access which is a rough dirt road but worth the trip.

Steve K

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevek370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
28.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
66.1 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
399 reviews
59.9 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
47.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Property: Aloha Guest House
Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,737 - ₹ 20,632
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Captain Cook, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing