We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
138
127
45
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
127
45
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork chop japanese room historic hotel third floor room old hawaii no elevator tatami mats the big island tight budget clean rooms farmers market closed on mondays tofu private bath oldest restaurant ocean view place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We keep coming back to the Manago! We love staying here. The atmosphere and charm of this 1920's hotel is alluring and additive. The prices are reasonable for the rooms or for the shared area and we have stayed in both. Every thing is clean and the staff is attentive to your needs. The pork chops in the restaurant are world famous..they are that good. Breakfast are great too with the Hawaii basic fare available. We will be going back again next year and will stay here again!!!!! PS the restaurant is closed on Mondays so plan accordingly if you want to savor some of that wonderful food.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We were looking to split our time over a week between the north and west on the Big Island, and the Manago Hotel was exactly as promised. A GREAT price, easy parking, nice view, and low stress. Would absolutely stay again, whether I'm traveling on a tight budget or not, as someone who doesn't spend a lot of time in my hotel / lodging. Stayed in a third floor room, and the stairs were easy to navigate from the parking lot. A couple of shops / grocery spots were nearby, and some local restaurants made this a solid location all around.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tombiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

First time for me to eat, but my boyfriend has been here many times to eat and neither of us have ever stayed here. Booking both reservation for room and dinner was very easy. I got the Japanese room as a treat for my boyfriend and he loved it. Room was sweet and clean with furo tub, shoji screens, comfortable bed and the only TV. Peaceful and away from the mad dash of Kona. Met friends for dinner and had breakfast the next morning before checking out.
It was clean and affordable and charming. But our best memory was Taryn. She checked us in and out, made dinner reservations, served us breakfast and was the most delightful thing about our stay.Thank you. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

I love this place, for the history behind the hotel and restaurant, and for its distance away from the main tourist traps. By virtue of the history, the building is old, and so if you are into modern rooms and nice furnishings, this is not the place for you. However, if you just want a quiet place and clean rooms, I think this is the best value on the Big Island. Kona Chips is just next door, if you wanna try potato chips that are made fresh everyday. The rooms with ocean view has its own balcony, which is also a nice touch

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Captain_Sulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Oldest hitel on Big Island, family history is interesting Nd lots of original phitis etc. Basic but clean room (no tea/coffee facilities or fridge) but good vzlue. Staff are very helpful- location is great and plenty of parking. Good market across the road non Sundays

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews