We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2006

I stayed in a second floor room in the lodge with my parents right after Labor Day of this year. We stayed for two nights. The first night we stayed here after leaving Yellowstone. We spent the next day at Grand Teton NP and Jackson, WY. Finally, when we left, we went back through Yellowstone on our way to Cody. This lodge was centrally located for our particular needs.
The lodge is located 10-15 minutes east of Moran Junction, which was 10-15 minuted out of our way. However, after spending 16 days driving around SD, MT & WY, the extra 10-15 minutes did not bother us in the least. Actually, we found this location to be perfectly suited for our itinerary.
The room was very large, with one queen and one double bed. The room was also very clean, and very quiet. We cracked a window one night to let in fresh air, and even though our room overlooked the parking lot and the road, we did not notice any extra noise.
The staff was very freindly and professional. We had breakfast each morning and dinner each night in the restaurant (after Sept 1st, they do not serve lunch, but since most people are doing the tourist thing during the day, this did not matter). We found the food delicious and well priced. There was a bus there one night for dinner, but our waitress was kind enough to rush through our order before the orders of the bus patron's, so I have to give her high marks for her thoughtfulness.
There is a small laundry room in one of the cabins with coin operated machines. We did a few loads of laundry, but only 2 of the 4 dryers were operational, so there was a bit of a wait to dry our clothes.
There is also a small gas station on the property with a "camp store" that offers the basics should you have forgotten something or have a sweet tooth for some junk food.
Finally, there is a "game room" behind the restaurant that probaly gets a lot of use in the winter. There is a computer with internet access, a fireplace, lots of sofas & chairs, and a pool table. There is also an attached bar with another pool table.
Overall, my family was very impressed and satisfied with this property, the low price, and the location right between the points we visited.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Erk_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 580 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2006

We were disappointed with the property due to the fact that we had expected a mountain view and had asked specifically for a mountain view upon booking. Their website also gives the impression that you can view the Tetons. The cabins, although very nice, had no view as they are nestled in a forest setting.
The kitchenette area was clean but the pans were extremely rusted, and when we asked for a replacement pan a 'less rusty' pan was supplied.
The food was great and lodge staff (aside from the manager) was very pleasant and did make us feel welcome.

However, when we asked to check out a day early, due to our disappointment, we were told under they would charge us the full days lodging. Management was completely inflexible and disinterested in our concerns that we were dissatisfied in our experience at their establishment. How disappointing and upset we were that they would treat their customers so poorly.

This was very unfortunate end, to an otherwise wonderful vacation in the Tetons.

Personally we would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JeepJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

Yes, spectacular country it is in ~ absolutely beautiful, breathtaking, wild and scenic. In actuality, this full-service lodge is located in Grizzley Country (signs were posted everywhere) and only a 45 minute drive to downtown Jackson. A wonderful place to relax. Enjoy a very clean and maintained hot tub experience. We, personally, highly recommend one of the log style cabins (we stayed in #423) adjacent to the surrounding forest areas which were very cozy, comfortable, clean, quaint, and quiet. At times you could hear the passing of other guests in their automobiles outside your cabin as they leave. You must, however, take into consideration that you are in the wilderness and it becomes very quiet as the sun sets and extremely quiet throughout the night, thus the sound of passing guests. Keep in mind, that the roadway leading to your cabin is a one-way entry and exit creating minimal automobile traffic. The beds were very comfortable and clean, considering they were not advertised as “heavenly beds”. Carpeting throughout looked new and clean. Upon entering the cabin, you breathe in the scent of a freshly cleaned and maintained cabin. Hot water ran til' your cup runneth over with great pressure. Working wall heaters in all rooms. The fireplace was above adequate and sufficient with a large supply of chopped wood on the front porch of the fireplace cabins only. Inside you found more than enough matches and firestarters to last your entire stay, no matter how long you planned on staying. All advertised, was provided. We expected a lot and received much more. I would, by all means, stay again, versus paying over $400 per night at one of the high end resorts in town or along the Tetons, unless, of course, you are of the high-maintenance persuasion. You will receive more than your monies worth with warm hospitality, coupled with a clean and comfortable environment in the midst of the great outdoors, literally to your front steps. The Lodge offers many amenities including a wonderful western style saloon-bar serving up wonderful made-to-order drinks and the restaurant entrees were extremely enjoyable and affordable. I would highly recommend this Lodge to anyone who is looking for “out of the mainstream” accommodations, especially if you don't mind driving the extra 45 minutes to town. It is quite worth the time spent as we consider ourselves to be world travelers on a large scale and very picky, within reason. We did see deer, marmots, a huge variety of forest birds, on the premises as well as driving along the Hwy between the mountain lodge and Moran Junction. They graciously provided additional assistance and convenience in the booking of qualified vendors for raft rides (who sported the best safety record) and National Park sponsored Old Western Cookouts from the front desk upon check-in (thus allowing you to pay once at checkout) without the charge of extra booking fees. No need to call around to a million different outfits to book your outdoor activities. Your Grand Teton Cookout hosts, hailing from Texas, Shirley, Joe, and Howard (your greeting committee once you arrive at the beautiful and very secluded mountain cookout site) and a true-to- life cowboy “Ryan” (your chuckwagon driver along with "Prince" and "Popper", brother draft horses) will offer up the best in genuine hospitality, entertainment, kindness coupled with delicious Texas size “steaks” and a whole lot of fixins'. Enjoy, with an “open mind” towards wilderness lodging, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank slim_goody60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

This place is a decent place to stay. It is primarily a snowmobiler's paradise, so don't expect too much in summer. The cabins are way overpriced at $250 in summer. You get a rather clean cabin with 2 beds, a sofabed, a kitchenette with some really old dinky appliances, and a nice bathroom. The only real problem with our stay, other than the price, was the fact that a MOUSE crawled into our room. We were forced to kill it and that wasn't exactly the highlight of our trip. By the way, this place is in the middle of NOWHERE. The address says Moran, Wyoming, but be warned you have to travel about 40 miles away from the actual town to get here. Overall, this place is okay for a night or two, but anything more than that is simply asking for trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joejos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2006

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1955Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
17.9 km away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
12.8 km away
Hatchet Resort
Hatchet Resort
#1 of 1 in Moran
301 reviews
17.3 km away
Luton's Teton Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 km away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
1,179 reviews
26.4 km away
Lava Mountain Lodge
Lava Mountain Lodge
#11 of 13 in Dubois
42 reviews
7.0 km away
Turpin Meadow Ranch
Turpin Meadow Ranch
#2 of 7 in Moran
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Togwotee Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Togwotee Mountain Lodge

Address: 27655 Highway 26/287, PO Box 91, Moran, WY 83013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Moran
Price Range: ₹ 15,392 - ₹ 19,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Togwotee Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Togwotee Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Togwotee Mountain Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing