We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What peacefulness and beauty”
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangani
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What peacefulness and beauty”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

From the moment we arrived and the managers and staff came out to greet us until the moment we left, the service was outstanding. This is truly a beautiful place that feels intimate yet gives you a wonderful feeling of privacy. The rates are extremely high, but they do treat you well. (I was a bit surprised that the cost of internet access wasn't included!) The food was spectacular and the view was gorgeous. I loved the very large dressing/closet area adjacent to the bath area. It was so nice to open the doors to our terrace and let the breeze flow into the room in the morning. Really a special place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    40
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
69
138
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

First off, this part of the country is easily one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. The Amangani is a fantastic place from which to appreciate the stunning surroundings. We loved our time here and would definitely go back.

The hotel is impeccably designed, with sumptuous facilities and rooms that are warm and inviting but also encapsulate great, clean design. The restaurant is good with a delicious breakfast (unlike most places, you can happily eat there for days on end without tiring of the choices) and a sufficient dinner (nothing to write home about). The ski facilities are wonderful, and you'll be so glad that you have your own little private lounge at the base of the mountain - it's a dream. On that note, the drivers are ski lounge staff wonderful. Really stellar. Especially Noah, he made our trip a thousand times more enjoyable by being friendly, helpful, and just an all around good guy.

Now for a little constructive criticism: (remember, we loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat, but there are a few things they could address that would make this an unsurpassed hotel and experience):

1. The rooms (and the hotel itself) is very drafty. They've done a terrible job of choosing windows and doors, which is a big surprise given how well thought out the rest of the hotel is. It must be highly energy inefficient and is a bit of a disappointment from such a high-end property.

2. Some of the welcome/recepetion staff and guest managers are overly friendly. They seem to pop out of nowhere with these immense smiles on their faces and ask unrealistically cheery questions. They're well intentioned but it's a bit much. If they were more down to earth and tempered like the fantastic drivers, it would be an all around better experience.

3. We had room service one night since we were sick and we ordered 2 small bowls of rice and a very simple chicken and veggies plate from the kids menu. Bill: $65. Turns out the chicken was $45. Sure, that's our fault for not looking closely enough first, but $45 dollar chicken and veggies from the kids menu? It's a little extortionate.

One more thing: do keep in mind that if you don't have a car, you will be reliant on the hotel transport for any excursion anywhere (except for the complementary shuttle to the mountain). So for dinners in town or anything like that, it quickly adds up ($70 per trip, round-trip).

So all in all it's a GREAT hotel with wonderful amenities and beautiful rooms, which make for an excellent experience. You should definitely go and visit, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chugwater, Wyoming
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had the first nights of our honeymoon at the Amangani. We were paying $700+ a night, so it shouldn't be a surprise that they were wonderful to us, but they were wonderful to us. They even bumped us to a nicer room because it was the quiet season. I don't know if I'll ever stay at a place like that again, but both my husband and I agree it was totally worth it. They included breakfasts for us, too :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearskinrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Simply amazing! Everything about this place is better than any Four Seasons, St. Regis, the Ritz, or the Waldorf Astoria. Not only is the resort itself beautiful, but it is perched atop a butte with amazing views. With only 40 rooms and a genuinely friendly and helpful staff, you feel as if you are part of the family. I have never felt more welcome in a resort in my life. 6 stars to the Amangani...we love you guys!!

Room Tip: Suites are huge, but every room has an amazing view. My favorite is the Sena suite on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We arrived on 23 November for a long Thanksgiving weekend and to celebrate our anniversary.

The Amangani staff is terrific and our corner suite was beautifully (and simply) appointed. We had a wonderful 4 night stay filled with Moose and Elk sightings, a science/nature tour, and skiing on opening day at Jackson Hole Resort.

The views from the hotel are spectacular and the hotel was perfectly empty and quiet during this off peak time of year. The majority of rooms do not face the Grand Teton Mountains but the far end of the hotel has a corner room that has that view. Regardless, the views are still amazing.

The outdoor/heated pool is a treat and the hot tub perfect amidst the frigid temperatures and after a long day of skiing.

The staff is simply outstanding. Every morning at breakfast the restaurant staff remembered our choices and catered to our dietary preferences. The food was excellent.

We wish we could mention all the staff that served us so well but one stands out above the rest - Chandler. His can-do, positive attitude helped make our weekend even more special.

One of the best perks at Amangani is the private ski lounge at the base of Jackson Hole where you can store equipment, eat, drink and warm up.

The town of Jackson is 15 minutes away and filled with unique shops and Jackson has the 5th largest collection of art galleries in the US.

We ate dinner one evening at Wild Sage at the Rusty Parrot Hotel and it was truly a culinary experience. The dining room is intimate and romantic and had the perfect ambiance. This is a must-visit restaurant.

We paid $695 a night and was surprised at check-out to find a 10% accommodation service charge ($69.50) added to each of the 4 nights. This was the only disappointment of the trip. Our travel agent didn't even know of the fee and neither did we. The website is also not clear and lacks key details necessary for trip planning (i.e. no spa information or menu).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Amangani and Jackson Hole, WY. It is truly a special place with amazing scenery, wildlife and service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
10.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
10.2 km away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
2.6 km away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
2.8 km away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
476 reviews
2.8 km away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Jackson
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Property: Amangani
Address: 1535 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8727
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#5 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 60,594 - ₹ 1,51,873
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangani 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani (peaceful home) clings to the crest of East Gros Ventre Butte, some 2,135 metres above sea level, and affords magnificent views of the Grand Tetons and Snake River Valley. The resort evokes the atmosphere of the American West, from its redwood panelling to its blazing logfires. Amangani is an all-season resort. The winter highlight is skiing, while in spring, summer and fall the surrounding wilderness areas of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are amongst the many attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson, Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing