We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National 9 Inn Gillette
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Gillette
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This place needs to be condemned!! Checked in on Sun. Aug 2nd. Bunch of people checking in and one person checking them in. And she was slower than hell! After I finally got my room, went up and the room was hot and the air conditioner was not working. I told her to call maintenance and she said OK! About 15 minutes later, I asked her if she had notified Maintenance, and she said not yet. I said well it isn't getting any cooler. Finally some young Lad came up and took the cover off the Thermostat and turned it off. Then he turned it back on and said that should take care of it. Hour later still no cooler and I was getting hotter, and not all from the heat. I told her it still wasn't working, and I was going to eat. I came back to my room about 8:30 and my door was open with no lights. I walked in and there was two guys standing there with all kind of wire sticking out of the wall. They changed the Thermostat, and after rewiring it and putting it back in the wall, he turned the switch and sparks came flying out of the wall. I said I hope the smoke alarm works better that the A/C!!! The air was on, but still not cooling very good. About 15 mins. the maintenance guy came back and said I had three options. I could get a full refund, but would have to leave the motel. (It is now 9:30) or I could get a breakfast voucher, or they could move me to a smoking room!! I took the voucher, but did not sleep very well as I thought the place might start on fire!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Steve E,
We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay and that your A/C was not working properly. We have gone through your room to repair the A/C so it works properly now. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and we hope that we can earn your business back in the future.

R. Howell - Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2015

Very old and outdated, stained , wallpaper old and peeling, the whole place (lobby,restaurant,hallways) reeks of cigarettes. Staff was very nice, however the first day we checked have in the lady running the front desk didn't have a clue about anything(how far was the nearest town,or even what was going on in the bar that night)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank zoowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear Zoowoman,
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our staff was not very helpful. Thank you for your feedback so we can continually improve. We appreciate your business and hope that we can earn your business back in the future.

R. Howell - Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

thanks to this hotel and staff for hosting my extra family during my sister's and daughter's weddings. They accommodated my elderly family being on the ground floor, having free hot breakfasts, and putting up with my son's and nephew's parting pranks.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear Teri C,
Thank you for letting us know about your families stay with us. We are glad that we were able accommodate your families needs and that they enjoyed their breakfasts. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.

R. Howell - Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Had my reservation wrong and the hotel was full so I had to take a smoking room with no discount offered or given. Staff was friendly and apologetic. The room was smelly and very dated..."70's." The beds were not comfortable and the noise level of the hotel was horrible. The cafe was having electrical issues while we were there preventing customers from getting coffee, soda, or juice. Not really impressed with the hotel or the cafe. The WiFi did not work.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank khanek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear Khanek7,
We apologize for the miscommunication with your reservation and that you weren't able to get the room you wanted. However, we are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and tried to help you the best they could. We appreciate your business very much and we hope that we can earn your business in the future.

R. Howell - Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Stayed overnight while traveling between Ohio and Washington. Its about what you would expect from a $50.00 a night room. Unfortunately they charged me $80.00. There is a odor that permeates the entire building. Once you get past that....built in the 70's based on the avocado green fixtures in my room. It seems that its popular with the bikers. There were numerous signs about not using the hotel linens to clean motorcycles and boots. There is an outdoor pool that was nice, and there was a free breakfast at the restaurant next door. Also the wifi was not very fast.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Dear Robb L,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and your breakfast in the restaurant. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon.

R. Howell - Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gillette hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Gillette
69 reviews
3.1 km away
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
#2 of 25 in Gillette
677 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Inn Gillette
Days Inn Gillette
#14 of 25 in Gillette
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Oak Tree Inn Gillette
Oak Tree Inn Gillette
#18 of 25 in Gillette
6 reviews
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gillette
3.3 km away
Super 8 Gillette
Super 8 Gillette
#17 of 25 in Gillette
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Gillette

Address: 1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Region: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Gillette
Price Range: ₹ 2,884 - ₹ 3,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — National 9 Inn Gillette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the National 9 Inn located in Gillette, Wyoming. Relax in our comfortable and spacious rooms and in the morning visit us in our Restaurant for an outstanding breakfast We also offer an outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool.The National 9 Inn is ideally located along the Interstate 90 corridor in Carbon County. Hotel guests will experience great customer service and amenities at an affordable rate. Gillette is the corridor to the Black Hills of South Dakota, Devils Tower National Monument, Vore Buffalo Jump, Bighorn Mountains, Keyhole State Park, the world famous Sturgis Motorcycle Rally This Gillette hotel features spaciously-appointed guest rooms complete with a microwave, refrigerator, high speed internet, Cable TV, Pet Friendly rooms and Laundry Facilities located on the property. In addition a Restaurant is located on the property that serves Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, a lounge and Casino are located on the property as well . We look forward to having you as our Guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your National 9 Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Gillette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing